RSS

The Shopping List

08 Jul

This refrigerator appears to be low on goods. I’m sure that if it were smaller it would not leave me to believe I have to fill it with fewer items. The baby however was able to find some treats and brought to me a small bottle of lime juice off the door. I think I will give him the little plastic container once empty. Why buy kids toys? They make the most of what’s around the house. And if I am not looking, he will fill the bottom drawer with blocks and other items he has found.

Thanks to modern day technology, the designers of this mighty refrigerator made the doors heavy enough to keep a 15 month old out. However, while wiping off shelves and tidying up the inside, my dietary manager aka the 15 month old had to over see the operation.

This morning I scribbled a list of items I need for the week: Milk, eggs, butter, juice, yeast, and some meat items. How and what I cook has changed considerably in the past two years. I make just about everything from scratch. Right now bread is being prepared to be baked later this morning. Soup no longer comes from the can, nor does any kind of broth.

How I store my items has extended their use. I buy fresh produce almost always especially when the price is right. All of this saves me over $50 a month on my food bill. Throw in about $20 in coupons. Once home and the car is unloaded, how food is put away is important and this should not be put off. All produce is taken out of those little plastic bags and washed right away (some items excluded-strawberries for one). Everything is trimmed and packaged so that when it’s time to make dinner, very little will be put into getting these items ready. You might have to dice or slice, but at least your veggies are clean and cut.

I can my own produce and freeze items more efficiently for longer periods in the icebox. That garden in my back yard has produced enough to keep me very busy for the summer. There were enough black eyed peas from last year’s crop to extend almost a year. I have 2 jars left. The garden is bigger this year. In fact, I am picking about every 2 days enough peas to fill a pint jar. Plenty of okra, pickles, and roma tomatos. Two pints of tomato puree so far.

Most importantly, it’s good healthy eating. My family is so important to me and the time we spend together not just eating but preparing foods simply seals in love.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2010 in baby, home, Photography

 

9 responses to “The Shopping List

  1. nikkitaylor2010

    July 8, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    I really like the picture that you included with this post. What a cutie pie you have there. As for the post itself, I totally agree. Nothing better than being able to save money & be healthier. I would love to be able to make more of my stuff from scratch but that isn’t one of my best traits as of yet. Will get there in due time though. My Mother is an awesome cook & she does a lot of stuff from scratch so I keep trying to get your to record her recipes on paper so that I’ll have them. I have picked up a few from her though so can’t complain to much. Thanks for much for sharing 🙂

    ~Nikki~

     
  2. wildstorm

    July 8, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    Thank you Nikki. The best advice I can give you is to get in there with your mom and cook with her. It’s the best way to learn is to simply start doing it. You will develop your own style of cooking and preparing.

     
  3. Patricia Tipps Menefee

    July 8, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    How can you keep from loving him up all the time? He is adorable!! I love it.

     
  4. doanli

    July 9, 2010 at 8:53 am

    Look at those cute little pants and feet! What a little cutie!

     
  5. Bobby

    July 9, 2010 at 9:55 am

    Nothing wrong with a little assistant is there? I’m sure your shopping exploits will be fruitful. I hope you are having a wonderful summer. It is my favorite season by a landslide.

    I have determined I need to live in a place with an endless summer feel.

    Love,
    Bobby

     
  6. burstmode

    July 13, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    for a while, my son was a lime-addict…beware.

     
  7. This Eclectic Life

    July 15, 2010 at 9:22 am

    I envy your garden, yes … I do. It can be back breaking work, but so rewarding. Your son is such a delight. Those eyes filled with mischief make me want to hug and squeeze.

     
  8. laughatm

    July 19, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    I love how you talk about life! You are so interesting!

     
  9. wildstorm

    July 19, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    Carol, you are so sweet. As if you didn’t already think I was interesting. You should hang out with me for a while. Visit my blog more often! You have alot of reading to do.

     

Leave a Reply

 
