RSS

I Have An Announcement

07 Jul

Since my camera is being used at McDonald’s Observatory near Fort Davis, Texas, by a really smart scientist, and because all my files are backed up on a drive in my husband’s office, I just don’t have a thing on this computer to share with you. Instead I went to my smugmug page and pulled off a picture from November 2008. Here’s the story.

This scene was taken from Vista House at the Columbia River Gorge, November 2008. The wind was blowing so hard I could hardly stand up. A woman fell as she climbed the steps up to the house swept by strong gusts. I needed help opening the door of my car to get out. You can see the sand blowing in the background of this picture.

Don’t let such barriers block your focus. I thought of this when browsing through that gallery. We all enjoy achieving goals. But those road blocks show up just about the time I sit down to set goals. Perhaps you run into them after execution. Whatever, whenever, here are a few that we often face on that long road to success:

Fear of failure
Uncertainty
Distractions
Looking back–being haunted by past failures
Poor commitment
Lack of time or poor use of time
Lack of resources
Lack of motivation
Just giving up

Stop all this. Get out of your chair and get going. Don’t allow a strong wind to blow you over. It doesn’t blow forever anyway and you’d be surprise how many others want you to meet your goals, fulfill your dreams.

Now I’ve got a plan to write.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 7, 2010 in Oregon, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 responses to “I Have An Announcement

  1. Patricia Tipps Menefee

    July 8, 2010 at 12:16 am

    How encouraging is that? I really enjoyed it. I have the tendency to vegitate and I have become a bit reclusive, I think. I love your outlook on life. : )

     
  2. Doug

    July 8, 2010 at 4:08 am

    But first, I have to go to work 🙂

    Hi, Anita!

     
  3. exileimaging

    July 8, 2010 at 6:38 am

    I should have read this before heading in to work this morning! Several times along the way I thought about stopping to photograph something, but every time chose to pass due to some feeling that the scene wasn’t exactly what I wanted. As a result, I have nothing. I guess if I’m to ever get out of this rut, I should at least start trying. Thanks, Anita!

     
  4. barebackbaby

    July 8, 2010 at 10:02 am

    Superb post and thought process and way of being.

    Ginny

     
  5. wildstorm

    July 8, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    Thanks readers, I had to come back to this post this morning just to motivate me to get my day going. I appreciate your kind words.

     
  6. doanli

    July 8, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    I needed this motivation, A. Thank you. 🙂

     
  7. davecandoit

    July 9, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    Good tips and a great shot.

     
  8. Anna

    July 11, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    Wow! What a photo! Thank you for this enlightening post as I needed it especially today.

     
  9. burstmode

    July 20, 2010 at 8:32 am

    Success is getting up each time life knocks you down.

     
  10. bard

    July 27, 2010 at 3:09 am

    Great picture — and great advice, too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
