RSS

Friday at Five

25 Jun

This afternoon, my husband and I took the baby for a drive to one of our nature places, Hagerman Wildlife Refuge. We had never been there in the evening and as 5 o’clock approached we thought it might be a good time to head out that way for after a rain especially in the evening. Creatures come out and you may see some wildlife you don’t normally see during the daytime. This includes but is not limited to the swarms of mosquitos.

While cruising very slowly down Egret Lane in the truck with both windows down, a big bug flew through. My husband says, “duck”! I aimed my camera toward the lake, “where?” He meant to duck my head for this large beast of an insect flew in and appeared to have flow out. We came to the end of the drive where I got out of the truck to photograph some pump jacks and we found this very large bug behind my seat on the window. See the above photo. I don’t think I have one of this variety in my collections.

On behalf of Wizardress’ Friday at Five, I am submitting the above portrait of this beauty classified as Anisozygoptera. Perhaps you may want to submit one of your own photo next Friday at Five. Check out her blog!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 25, 2010 in 5 o'clock Friday, bugs, Photography, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Friday at Five

  1. Wes

    June 26, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    cool stuff

     
  2. Les

    June 27, 2010 at 5:25 am

    It looks like a glass and stainless steel broach.

     
  3. Lori

    June 28, 2010 at 6:27 am

    I love that- I’ve never seen one that color either and the wings are so beautiful and silvery.

    I’m a little late with getting everything posted from 5 O’ Clock Friday’s, but I’m doing that now 🙂

     
  4. Bobby

    June 29, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    We have a gazillion dragonflies this year. Love ’em. Mabel calls them all “Evenrude” after that Disney Character.

     
  5. Anna

    June 29, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    What a neat looking dragonfly!

     

Leave a Reply

 
