RSS

Flown the Coop

23 Jun

This nest was built by two mud martins over the course of the early Spring. I watched them daily spend all their energy bringing in mud, grass, twigs. This next was situated up under my front porch which is high and away from Snow Cat. In fact, I don’t think she knew they were living up there. These birds did charge her a few times when she went out into the front yard during the day.

It wasn’t long before I heard the tweet-tweet of the baby birds. I believe there were five of them. I got charged a couple of times when I stepped out on the porch to get the mail. No harm done. I ignored them for I wanted to maintain as natural uninterrupted environment as possible.

Last week they were all learning to fly. They were still living in the nest and it was tight quarters up there with them all squeezed in. Early this morning, I noticed they were all gone.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on June 23, 2010 in home, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , ,

15 responses to “Flown the Coop

  1. midwestchickadee

    June 23, 2010 at 9:56 am

    How precious! I came across your blog by the tag. Those are Barn Swallows incidentally. I’m envious you had the privilege of these little guys nesting on your property. Thank you for sharing the photo!

     
  2. Patricia Tipps Menefee

    June 23, 2010 at 10:13 am

    I think these are pretty little birds. I am glad you let them have their home at yours. : ) I liked the story.

     
  3. wildstorm

    June 23, 2010 at 10:17 am

    Thanks midwest. My husband called them mud martins. But I had a feeling they were barn swallows. Thank you. I have enjoyed having them. But I do have a mess to clean up on my porch!

     
  4. wildstorm

    June 23, 2010 at 10:17 am

    Thanks Trisha!

     
  5. lovezao

    June 23, 2010 at 11:16 am

    We have barn swallows at the farm, when you take a walk around the pond at nesting time, they freak out!!!!
    We also had a mourning dove nesting in one of the gutters out there this year. It was right outside the stair landing window, and every time we walked by it gave us the evil eye, like “I need some privacy here!”
    Darling babies!

     
  6. Stacie

    June 23, 2010 at 11:27 am

    Isn’t it a joy to get to watch birds nest? Love your pic of them all squeezed into the nest.

     
  7. Bobby

    June 23, 2010 at 11:53 am

    I have always loved God’s little creatures. Nice pic.
    Are you enjoying the summer?

    Love,
    Bobby

     
  8. exileimaging

    June 23, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Several of our neighbors and a few other friends have had Barn Swallows nest on their porches, but for some reason they’ve never nested at our home. Even though they make a mess, they’re fun to watch.

     
  9. Krista

    June 23, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    Ohhh, how sweet! Love this! 🙂

     
  10. chasity

    June 23, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    they are so sweet.
    it will be fun to watch them swooping about!

     
  11. elegies

    June 24, 2010 at 6:13 am

    We have these and they have just gone too. They were up high in the eaves.

     
  12. This Eclectic Life

    June 25, 2010 at 11:01 am

    Wasn’t it wonderful to watch? I had tiny wrens on the back porch. From where we sit to drink coffee each morning, we could almost touch the nest! Silly wrens. Once they flew, they didn’t come back to the nest. Some small ones fly near now, but I don’t know if they are the babies; they mature so quickly.

     
  13. Anna

    June 26, 2010 at 11:39 am

    What a wonderful capture! How wonderful to watch them grow and learn to fly. We had this happen once with finches in my porch fern. Such a joy!

     
  14. angelcel

    June 26, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    How lovely!

     
  15. Jacqueline

    July 6, 2010 at 8:57 am

    Mess and all, it’s a great moment you’ve captured. And far lovelier than the pigeon crew who’ve set up headquarters right outside my bedroom window … and my bed … and my ears. Whatever they do at 5am, they DON’T do it discreetly! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
