RSS

Road Block

17 Jun

This Thursday night I browse lists for things to blog about. It’s a blank slate tonight with not even a crumb to get my mind going.

Stimulation of thought comes with a late evening at this screen and keyboard with an evening breeze blowing through my window. The moon stares in through the blinds and the only other light is a car preparing to turn left on 3rd.

Tonight it is Gerry Rafferty. Last night it was Dave Stewart. Sometimes its The Who, Zepplin, Jimi. There are more. I need inspiration yet my writing may have no connection to the artists’ words. Sometimes its the emotional stirring from the instruments.

While browsing around the web I found “The World’s Largest Blog Niche and Topic Idea List”. That list didn’t help. This blog began as photo and travel blog of rural America. It has evolved somewhat over the years but for the most part, I continue to write frequently about places off the beaten path and anticipate those occasional comments left by someone who had grew up there with a little nugget of history from back in the day. I treasure those.

I like lists. I learn about people by what they put in their lists.

When all else fails, I post a picture with nothing more. I then await for your story about my picture.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2010 in Photography

 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “Road Block

  1. Les

    June 18, 2010 at 6:21 am

    I am not sure where this was taken, but it looks extremely exotic.

    I had to write and article for the customer newsletter yesterday. I knew the topic, but it took forever for me to get it started. I just had to stare at the screen until something came to me.

     
  2. exileimaging

    June 18, 2010 at 6:33 am

    I’m stuck at a road block (or brick wall) myself. I understand what it’s like when the ideas don’t materialize, and the words don’t flow. Plus, I find myself photographing the same subjects over and over. I stopped yesterday on the way to work and shot yet another morning skyline photo of Austin. Is it the Texas heat, or is there something else at play here that I can’t get things rolling?

    Lovely photo, Anita. I hope you find your inspiration again soon.

     
  3. Aafke-Art

    June 18, 2010 at 8:53 am

    The lady wandered from room to room, the familiar house with all it’s treasures, slowly fading beauty…
    She could hear the music of the sea as she sat down behind the piano to play a melancholy song.
    A vine had pushed through the dilapidated window, unfolded it’s sharp fresh green leaves and a single orange flower. The scent wafted towards her.
    New morning, new life, new love…

     
  4. Anna

    June 18, 2010 at 10:55 am

    Yes, roadblocks stop you in your tracks…. a time of clearing for when something that will come along and prod… and renew. I had roadblocks when I was a writer, and certainly as a photographer. Wonderful contemplative writing and very nice photo.

     
  5. Stacie

    June 18, 2010 at 11:36 am

    I really like this photo. It reminds me of my dream house…. Some days I have no idea what to write, so I post inspirational things I like…

    Have a lovely day!

     
  6. wildstorm

    June 18, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    Some days words spill right through my fingertips. Even finding a photo to post here is trying. You all understand well.

     
  7. wildstorm

    June 18, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    Thank you Aafke for your story. =)

     
  8. This Eclectic Life

    June 19, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    I was going to write you a story, but I like Aafke’s too well :-). Mine would, of course, be a ghost story.

    Inspiration? It’s quite often hard to find, but you were eloquent in describing the elusive nature of it. I’m suffering with it, too. I find my blog evolving, and I’ve lost my “humor.” I was funny once, and bubbling with ideas, but I don’t feel it now. Hmmm. Maybe just going with the flow is all we can do.

     
  9. Preston

    June 20, 2010 at 7:34 am

    Anna was really inspired by your Road Block and told me about it. What you wrote was beautiful indeed. I understand how the music awakens the muse.

     
  10. Aafke-Art

    June 20, 2010 at 8:32 am

    This photo reminds me too of my dreamhouse.
    There is also music which belongs to it:

     
  11. Lori

    June 20, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    I understand this well. Since words are how I put pennies in my pocket, it can be frustrating to find the words you seek just beyond your grasp. Sometimes waiting is the only thing you can do.

     
  12. Sunny

    June 23, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    Hi Anita ! Ohhh, I would not like to be the one cleaning those windows!

    But, I’d love to sit in that chair there, and read a book or write a letter, in the sunrays streaming through ~ 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
