RSS

Clute, Texas

12 Jun

Mosquito capital of Texas. Well, that’s my assessment. Never in my travels have I come home with more mosquito bites than I did when I stayed in Clute, a town where a mammoth was discovered by a backhoe operator in 2003. Dig deep enough and you are likely to find something–dirt more than anything but certainly something.

Clute is located about 45 miles west of Houston. And as all small Texas towns do, it’s got a fascinating history filled trivia usually involving the founder’s last name and the postmaster. According to history, it started at the junction of two plantations way back when and now Dow Chemical is spread across much of it’s front yard.

When we were there, we stayed at a hotel right across the road from Dow and spent one full day at Brazoria Wildlife Refuge. We were eaten alive! Yes we were and I warn any travelers as they venture off onto one of the trails at this beautiful park that Cutter and Off do not help keep mosquitos from swarming. I had better luck not getting eaten by the alligator I photographed.

While in town we discovered a sign advertising the upcoming 30th Annual Mosquito Festival. This event takes place latter part of July. If we lived closer, we just might attend. I know the mosquitos will be there.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on June 12, 2010 in Photography, small towns, Texas, TtV

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Clute, Texas

  1. regan222

    June 12, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    http://www.mosquitofestival.com/
    Including the infamous Willie Manlicker, the largest free-standing mosquito in Texas.

     
  2. regan222

    June 12, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    oops, my bad, not Willie Manlicker, it’s Willie Manchew

     
  3. wildstorm

    June 12, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    Manchew, Manlicker, it all comes out in the wash. Or on the tongue.

     
  4. Wes

    June 12, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    Dow Chemical used to be one of my accounts when I was in the computer biz. Thanks for this

     
  5. wildstorm

    June 12, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    You are welcome, Wes. Thanks for your visit.

     
  6. Jacqueline

    June 12, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    Dow’s presence is undeniably powerful in this photo. It’s an incredible shot. Are you experimenting with TTV? It’s just fantastic.

     
  7. elegies

    June 13, 2010 at 4:07 am

    For some reason the mosquitoes don’t seem to like me. I haven’t been bitten for years, but other people around me are all the time. 🙂

     
  8. exileimaging

    June 13, 2010 at 7:09 am

    Sounds like you stayed at the same motel as we did on our last visit. We’ve been to Clute / Lake Jackson several times now for birding. I suggest January for the winter shorebirds. The mosquitos aren’t quite so bad then!

     
  9. davecandoit

    June 13, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Love the processing with this shot. Well done.

     
  10. ewenique

    June 13, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Oh, I must of got out of that area just in time. Lake Jackson was only about 40 miles away from Palacios, TX. Hope you had a good vacation.

     
  11. angelcel

    June 15, 2010 at 10:52 am

    The gentle colour on this photo is lovely. Do you mind me asking how you achieved this? A plug-in or sheer talent? (Ignore the question if it’s a trade secret).

    As for Clute, I’m afraid you’re not selling it to me! 🙂

     
  12. wildstorm

    June 15, 2010 at 11:09 am

    Clute is a nice little town with an interesting history. As for the photo, I took while driving along the highway. Used a Nikon D-50. It was sheer accident! The settings were those that I had for an earlier morning shoot. I was quite pleased.

     
  13. Vicki Grabinski

    January 24, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    If Clute, Tx were really 45 miles west of Houston, that would make Houston out in the Gulf of Mexico. It took me quite a while to figure out where Clute really was.

     

Leave a Reply

 
