RSS

Management

26 May

My communications professor in graduate school asserted one night in class that it can be determined by the behavior of a child what kind of manager he/she will be when they grow up. I recall him saying four years of age. But that was 8 years ago and I have searched for documented research on such a suggestion.

Recently I got hired for a supervisory position at a nursing home. I like managing team members. In fact, that was exactly what I got my education in. It’s about team building, compliance, job satisfaction, personal and professional growth for each employee and most importantly safety and care of the patient. It takes time when the manager is new to learn the ways of the team and iron out the creases in the fabric. Trust is key; integrity. It’s about setting the situation up for success.

When I look at this photo I took today of the baby, I wonder what he will be like as an adult. How well will he manage whatever assignments/people that come his way? He looks very serious and in deep thought in this shot. But it was only a split second, the shutter of my camera that caught this look. It’s interesting though to study the expression. And wonder.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 26, 2010 in baby, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Management

  1. doanli

    May 27, 2010 at 7:46 am

    He’s a good looking boy, Mom!

    Hope you’re loving watching him grow…cherish it, Anita. ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  2. Angela Giles Klocke

    May 27, 2010 at 9:12 am

    First – what a cutie head! Love the shot. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Second – when my eldest was young, he was always bossy, a leader, determined. That’s just who he is now, only not bossy but the boss. At 16, he was already managing shifts at a restaurant, and now he’s in school to be a police officer. It’s a perfect fit for him. Funny how it connects from childhood.

     
  3. Nancy

    May 27, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    Besides being adorable, he looks like he would be very thoughtful ๐Ÿ™‚ I think his experiences will make him; strengthened of course by his own inborn characteristics.

     
  4. davecandoit

    May 27, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    That’s a great shot. I would have titled it, “What???” ๐Ÿ˜‰

     
  5. Pastor Larry

    May 30, 2010 at 9:52 am

    He is so cute ๐Ÿ™‚
    Congrats on the new job.

     

Leave a Reply

 
