RSS

Dickens, Texas

14 May

The drives to and from the Panhandle are innumerable. And each time I arrive in Dickens, it is as if it is my first time there. Located on the 82 and the 70 about 60 miles east of Lubbock, Dickens is the county seat and is known as the Unofficial Wild Boar Capital of Texas.

I am not sure if the sheriff fines $25 for talking to prisoners, as shown in the photo below, but I did not have time to ask questions that morning I stopped for a short break.

There are a few ghost stories told in these parts. And if you are willing to join me on my next excursion through the panhandle this Spring, we shall seek out such spooks in the moonlight hours, and I will tell you all about them if you are not afraid of the dark. Every town’s got a ghost and someone’s got a story.

There is a small collection of photos I’ve taken of Dicken’s from previous drives, and it’s one of those places I could sit my hindend on a bench in front of the court house and find interesting subjects and people to take pictures of. The cowboys that pass through…..oh the scenes of the wild west.

Dickens County Jail and Sheriffs Office

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2010 in Photography, small towns, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Dickens, Texas

  1. Pastor Larry

    May 14, 2010 at 11:33 am

    I just love your pictures

     
  2. wildstorm

    May 14, 2010 at 11:50 am

    Thanks Pastor! I’m so glad you stopped by.

     
  3. davecandoit

    May 16, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    Great shot, Wildstorm. The sign really makes it.

     
  4. Jack Matthews

    May 17, 2010 at 7:28 am

    Good catch of local color. I’ll have to stop by Dickens County Jail and chat with the sheriff about the sign. Lot of counties ship their prisoners off to other places–Burnett, Texas, a favorite place because it’s cheaper. But, I’ll bet Dickens keeps its own in-house. Beats the dickens out of me, though, what they do with their prisoners.

     
  5. Lori

    May 18, 2010 at 2:37 am

    What a great shot- I love it! Hope you have a fabulous week!

     
  6. The gold digger, aka Class Factotum

    May 20, 2010 at 9:11 am

    I love your photos. I miss Texas. We lived in Lubbock when I was in junior high, San Antonio for high school, I went to college in Houston and grad school in Austin. I keep telling my husband that if his plane crashes, I am getting rid of all of his junk in the basement without even looking at it (who needs phone bills from 1997?), giving away the cats (maybe) and moving back to Texas. It’s pretty up here and the people are super nice, but snow and cold are not my thing.

     
  7. Lauren McCormick

    February 18, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    I love this picture. My family is from Dickens, with my grandfather and aunt still living there. My Mother has told me stories of when she was little, inmates would yell at her from the jail!

     

Leave a Reply

 
