RSS

Jacksboro, Texas

13 May

I can hardly wait to get back to Jacksboro, Texas. Last Spring I got lost and it was Jacksboro where I found myself calling someone on the phone to help me get home. I don’t carry maps and figured if the car headed east bound long enough I’d end up at Interstate 35 and from there finding home would be a cinch. And I don’t even recall how I ended up in Jacksboro in the first place. It is when drivers get lost in the words of a great song on the radio and their imagination runs off on another route while hands remain on the steering wheel following the mind.

Unfortunately, not much time was spent here since I was running with the late afternoon clocks. But there is always a need for gasoline. I stopped off on the corner of, well I don’t remember, but it was a corner gas station. I heard to men at the next pump talking about business and cattle. I went inside for to buy a coke and listened to the lady in front of me talk about her grandfather’s collection of plows. Two boys argued over who was going to be first at getting to the park, or maybe it was the other’s backyard.

People in Jacksboro take their heritage very seriously. Not only does the landscape offer trails and streams and outdoorsy things to do, you will find all kinds of historical opportunities in and out of town. Museums, trailways, and some good restaurants will be found among some of the relics as I have shown in the photo above. There’s a sign that I didn’t get a photo of out of town of a cemetery sign called “Dark Corner Cemetery”. Since time bound me to the east, I didn’t have time to visit this place and add photos to my cemetery picture collection. Maybe you’d like to join me some evening on an excursion of haunted cemeteries in Texas.

It is always such a pleasure to loose oneself in the springtime in West Texas. I cannot wait to do it again.

jacksboro2500.jpg

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 13, 2010 in Photography, small towns, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Jacksboro, Texas

  1. burstmode

    May 13, 2010 at 9:38 am

    Reminds me…I need a haircut.

     
  2. exileimaging

    May 13, 2010 at 11:00 am

    What a coincidence, I was perusing my maps yesterday and came across Jacksboro. I have a little project, still in the planning stage, that involves a long road trip, many stops, and lots of photos. Jacksboro is along my chosen route. Sounds like I’ll have some great photo ops there. Thanks for the post. It was, as always, enjoyable!

     
  3. swanpetal

    May 13, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    Oooh cemeteries. I wished I lived closer to Texas…. it sounds fun.

     
  4. Jack Matthews

    May 14, 2010 at 8:12 am

    So, traveling without maps? Jacksboro was good place to get re-oriented. If you had kept on, you would have run into I-35. When I lived in Amarillo, one day I went about ten miles north of Amarillo, turned west on a section road and followed roads west all the way into eastern New Mexico, encountering beaucoup amount of local color and ranches galore. Ended up at Circle C (?) Ranch, turned around, found a paved road and came back. I identify with your style. Your photographs get the essence. Excellent blog and posts. –Jack @ sage to meadow

     
  5. wildstorm

    May 14, 2010 at 11:53 am

    The downside to traveling without maps is that although I can pretty much judge which way is North by where the sun shines, I cannot always tell if the road I’m on is going to put me closer to Fort Worth or up near Gainesville.

    Sounds like an interesting find on your excursion!

     
  6. Carole Hobdy

    September 16, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    It won’t be the same when you get back to Jacksboro. The photo above is no longer there, as they have dismantled the old walls and are currently building a courtyard/park area. Also, there are a lot of cemeteries in the County. Hope you get back some day.

     
  7. wildstorm

    September 16, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    Carole, thank you so much for sharing that. It’s been a few years and things change. This is exactly why I capture these treasures in my images. It’s all about what once was.

     

Leave a Reply

 
