RSS

Turner Falls, Davis, Oklahoma

09 May

The best time to visit Turner Falls is before schools let out for the summer. If you want to save a few bucks, get there before April 30, 2010 and you can get in for $3.50. Otherwise, its a whopping $10 per person. Kids obviously have their own fees and fortunately babies get in for free. Furthermore, you can avoid the crowds by going mid week. Thursday was choice for us. We must have associated with 2 other families while there and we walked from the souvenier shop all the way to the falls. It’s best for those who want to take some serious photos without having humans blocking the view. Don’t miss the turtles.

Some of my favorite places since I’ve been in Texas:

Wichita Mountain Wildlife Refuge, Oklahoma
Faulk, Arkansas
Amarillo, Texas
Clarendon, Texas
White Rock Lake, Dallas, TX
Harlingen, Texas

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2010 in Oklahoma, Photography, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Turner Falls, Davis, Oklahoma

  1. exileimaging

    May 10, 2010 at 7:32 am

    I find myself checking Google Maps almost every time I read one of your posts, calculating how long a trip it would be from Austin to wherever you’ve just written about. This looks like such a cool place to visit that I might just have to plan a trip.

    Faulk, Arkansas rang a bell in the deep recesses of my brain. Isn’t that the place with their own version of Bigfoot?

    As always, an enjoyable post. Keep ’em coming!

     
  2. wildstorm

    May 10, 2010 at 7:52 am

    You are right about Faulk, Arkansas. It is where Legend of Boggy Creek was filmed. There might be an entry somewhere in my archives about it. I didn’t write much at the time.

    Unfortunately I have not done much exploring in Central Texas near the Austin area. I’ve been down there a few times but never took time to drift off on some lonely little road to see where I’d end up.

     
  3. Anna Surface

    May 12, 2010 at 8:57 am

    I used to visit Turner Falls as a kid with family. My, that has been a good long while! Lovely photo.

     
  4. wildstorm

    May 12, 2010 at 11:02 am

    Anna, my dad and I talked to a man at the park while we were there and he told us of how he used to climb up on the cliff and jump off that rock into the water—45 years ago. He had some great memories!

     

Leave a Reply

 
