RSS

Leonard, Texas

08 May

Twelve or thirteen times I’ve been through Leonard on the 69 but not once did I stop to see what was there. Well yesterday on my way to visit a client, I did turn right on some little street that the car in front of me turned on and found myself in downtown Leonard Texas. On the square most shops and business were still closed because it was around 8 a.m. Of course the police station was open as they always are only they are across the street these days in the building in the center of the square where about 3 patrol cars were parked.

The clock ticked and I could not be late for my visit so there was little opportunity to pop into the police station and interview officers about the life and dreams of Leonard or the wacky unpublished stories of it’s residents. Nor did I stop in front of the quaint little house situated under a large oak tree at the end of the street and photograph (ask to photograph) two women sitting out on their porch enjoying a cup of coffee and discussing the day’s agenda. Or maybe they were discussing the neighbor’s agenda. A few doors down a tall scraggly looking man perhaps in his 50’s was walking across his front yard with no shirt, baggy jeans and a very long gray beard. He waved at me as I slowed and called me baby. I wish I would have stopped to talk to him. Time. There’s always an arguement with the clock.

I have to drive this way again in June. Only next time my visit won’t be scheduled for a specific hour and I can spend some time here. For this was one place I felt connected and want to spend some time hearing a story.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 8, 2010 in Photography, small towns, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “Leonard, Texas

  1. Pastor Larry

    May 8, 2010 at 8:43 am

    Great picture. Most police stations don’t look that good.

     
  2. Beth

    May 8, 2010 at 10:07 am

    With the exception of Mr. Scraggly Beard Man, that so sounds like an exceptional post. I hope you stop in Leonard next time!

     
  3. wildstorm

    May 8, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    Beth, I plan to stop and visit, record my conversation and plant it right here on my blog! Thanks for visiting.

     
  4. wildstorm

    May 8, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    Pastor, I think there is a law office in there but nothing else. This building appears to be the old station while the the one used now is in the center of the square.

     
  5. Jack Matthews

    May 9, 2010 at 7:27 am

    Quite an interesting facade for a police department. I do like your photos and work on small towns.

     
  6. doanli

    May 9, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    One of these days I’m going to spend the day driving around and photographing.

    I’m TOO busy these days, but I suppose there’s a reason for everything! 😉

     
  7. exileimaging

    May 10, 2010 at 7:28 am

    Sounds like an interesting place. I think you visit even more small towns than my wife and I do. I always enjoy your posts, keep ’em coming!

     
  8. D

    April 15, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    thats not the Police station and never has been.Its is really at city hall and has been in many spots downtown…As for the 50ish graybearded man,I believe that is a good friend of mine and you may enjoy a good talk with him..very interesting guy.Let me know the next time you come through town and if you want so history on it I have been hear going on 37 years.

     
  9. wildstorm

    April 16, 2011 at 5:04 am

    Hi D. I do pass through Leonard about once a month. If I recall the police station was across the street on the other side…well, I just remember the sign outside. It looked as if this structure was vacant. Thank you so much for the visit to my page.

     

Leave a Reply

 
