RSS

Thankful Thursday

06 May

Not one time in my washing machine life have I ever pulled out all the wet clothes from the washer and not found a coin or paper money. I like the paper best. It dries and spends the same. I collect enough small change each month to buy a small bottle of laundry soap. Last night, I managed to complete my collection of enough change and a few dollars to buy the big concentrated bottle of my all-time favorite laundry detergent. Of course, I keep this money hidden for it makes its way to Sonic for a burger when I’m not looking.

Last night, while the swish swash of the washing machine was heard, I stepped outside on the back porch and looked across the lawn. The sun had already sunk below the tree line and there was just enough light to walk to the garden. The air was very fragrant–sweet smelling. Two very large honeysuckle bushes stretch up behind my fence in full bloom. I sat in the swing with my glass of sweet tea and watched the stars begin to wink at the earth while kissed by the cool breeze. Moving back and forth, Snow Cat meowed as she tiptoed past me to inspect the garden rows. Above and just behind her, a couple of lightening bugs appeared.

I forgot about the rest of the world.

This photo was taken in Bells, Texas a couple of weeks ago.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 6, 2010 in home, Photography, Texas, TtV

 

9 responses to “Thankful Thursday

  1. Anna Surface

    May 6, 2010 at 9:18 am

    Oh, I love this photo and with the effect of Ttv. Lovely post and as if you had ‘Freeze Frame Time’ (a great song). I do that a lot…. freeze frame time to hold cherished memories… even something as simple as gazing at how the morning sun slants through the trees and slats of the fence. 🙂

     
  2. patricia tipps menefee

    May 6, 2010 at 9:35 am

    Sounds so peaceful. With me, it’s pennies. I always find pennies in the washer and other places. I save all the pennies I get back in change and find and give them to a local church, anonymously. They don’t know who leaves them, but Jesus does. I have done this for years.

     
  3. wildstorm

    May 6, 2010 at 10:28 am

    Anna, these moments we cherish don’t we. And in this face paced world, one must take time and watch how the wind blows the sheets on the clothesline.

     
  4. wildstorm

    May 6, 2010 at 10:29 am

    Trisha, what a wonderful thing to do! I hadn’t even thought about giving all the change in the offering plate. Imagine over the years how that has added up. Wow.

     
  5. ewenique

    May 6, 2010 at 11:49 am

    I love this picture! Thank you for visiting my blog, when people leave comments you get to go and visit them and discover someone new you want to follow. From my post you’ve probably discovered that I love anything vintage, the picture in your heading reminds me of my childhood, I spent a lot of time on a ranch with my grandparents and we had the same kind of leanto barns, brought back a nice memory today. I look forward to exploring the rest of your blog.
    Margaret

     
  6. Virginia Little

    May 6, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    I often find bills in the dryer. Unfortunately the coins get trapped in the washer filter and cause havoc and then I have to take off the front of the machine to get them out.

    I have been enjoying watching the male cardinals feed the females…they do this every spring, seed by seed. It’s just such a tender mating gesture.

    The dogwoods are in bloom, horses tossing their manes and wanting to run, run, run and then graze with their eyes half shut.

    I enjoy your photos and your blog, Wildstorm, as ever.
    Ginny
    Nice to know there’s another iris lover out there as well.

     
  7. exileimaging

    May 6, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    I really love this photo. It has such a cool look to it. Nice post, too!

     
  8. chasity

    May 7, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    great commentary of your evening.
    love the grungy effect of the photo and the frame.

    nice photo!!

     
  9. Michaella

    May 8, 2010 at 12:19 am

    I like this photo but the real jewel is your post! I say this every time,(to myself) but I believe this is my favorite.

     

Leave a Reply

 
