RSS

Rosy Wings

19 Apr

This beauty is the first Iris in my garden to bloom this year. About 30 rhysomes were planted last year and I expect to have about six to bloom their first year in a new garden. That’s how Iris are. This is a tall bearded Iris known as Rosy Wings and was transplanted from a family garden. That family knows something about Iris so my garden is one that I will enjoy for years to come.

Many of the plants were labeled as was this Iris. However, I have many that are unknown. They are planted on a grid and documentation of each plant is shown on a spreadsheet. I expect the next plant to open to be Stepping Out. I’m almost sure of it by the color of the tightly folded up bloom. It should explode tomorrow with brilliant color. My aunt and MIL will help determine the variety of the unknowns.

My mom loved Iris. Clusters were found in the yard and on the property around the house. These were common flags: yellow, white, lavender and some darker purple. This was all I knew for many years but loved them. Then I discovered the more dramatic colors. Some of these will be included here and a link to my gallery later.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 19, 2010 in Flowers, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Rosy Wings

  1. Ginny

    April 19, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    I have my grandmother’s Iris and my mothers as well all over my 2 acres..they spread and they are hearty! I LOVE them. I love the memories they evoke and their intricate patterns and contrasting and bright colors. Fabulous plant.

    I also have Jack in the Pulpit from my gma’s. It is an endangered wild plant in Michigan. It gets an orange seed “penis” drooping from it and reseeds itself. Big, broad leaves. Again, quite hearty..

    And Bleeding Hearts and Columbine are lovely perennials..so delicate and again, intricate blossoms.

    Spring is magic.

     
  2. Anna Surface

    April 19, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    Lovely iris! I worked in my iris bed today. No blooms yet! My mom, too, loved irises and when she was moving, I dug up her irises and planted them in my flower garden. One of my favorites is the ‘Indian’ iris from her iris bed. So they are special. Enjoyed the post and the memories evoked on my end.

     
  3. Regan

    April 19, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    We will have to go out to mother’s house and go up on the hill. We can find the descendants of Grandmother’s iris there.

     
  4. Les

    April 20, 2010 at 6:07 am

    This flower is one of my favorites and was the first flower I grew as a child. I have been taken pictures for a couple of days now as each one unfolds. I have no idea what varieties I have, but I know what I like, pretty lame for someone in my profession.

     
  5. Pastor Larry

    April 20, 2010 at 6:32 am

    I love it.

     
  6. swanpetal

    April 20, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    Beautiful iris! I had some iris but they are planted at my mom’s house. There are a whole bunch up north with the tulips, they have not bloomed yet.

    I always enjoy reading…

     

Leave a Reply

 
