RSS

Big Red, Bread and Butter, and the Galaxy 500

13 Apr

When the gentle whispers of Springtime air turned into what felt like a blow-dryer in my face on full speed, I knew it was time to go inside and work on a different project that should have been completed last year. I should have turned it out into the wind to see whose yard it might find itself in. Commitments.

Last night at about midnight I stuck a couple of quarters and nickles in a vending machine in the staff lounge and clicked the 4th button. A plastic bottle of Big Red soda tumbled down. I sat it on the table, twisted off the plastic bottle cap and took a big swig of it. It’s the same as I remembered. As a kid, I liked Big Red. My mom wasn’t too keen on us drinking soda pop but she allowed us to have one especially if it didn’t have all that caffiene flowing through. I drank a few while I was pregnant last year and found the red soda to be the most wonderful thing on the planet. Being pregnant will do that.

My journal was situated in my bag so that when I came back on my lunch break, I could write another private entry about life. That entry was about the bread and butter sandwich. That was not uncommon back in the day. A slice of white Wonder bread, with some butter spread from one side to the other, folded in half, and that was all that was needed to get through the afternoon on the swing in the warm sunshine. The bread and butter sandwich was also very popular for the days I planned on making a treck across the planet. My mom would pack up a couple of those, include a sandwich bag of potato chips, an apple, and if we were lucky, a sweet. All this packed in a satchel and off we went far and away. Sometimes the trip was to Chaparral Park in the Galaxy 500.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2010 in home, New Mexico, Photography

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Big Red, Bread and Butter, and the Galaxy 500

  1. wildwesty

    April 13, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    the first car I drove on my own was a Galaxy 500!

     
  2. Lori

    April 14, 2010 at 4:16 am

    We put sugar on our bread and butter sandwiches.. which may be why I love sugar so much today 🙂

    I used to love Big Red too, but haven’t had one in a long time. I also used to love Barq’s Cream Soda, long before they changed it- and the Root Beer. YUM

    Life seemed more simple back then didn’t it?>

     
  3. Ginny

    April 14, 2010 at 8:27 am

    Big Red and Wonder Bread. How well I remember. Sounds like a poem waiting to happen now….
    thanks for the memory..
    Ginny

     
  4. Les

    April 15, 2010 at 6:14 am

    Like Lori, we would put a sprinkle of sugar on the sandwhich. My first car as a teen was a big old hunking Galaxy 500. It must of been haunted cause it got me in trouble on more than one occasion.

     
  5. wildstorm

    April 15, 2010 at 11:26 am

    What a great car that Galaxy 500 was!

     
  6. Michaella

    April 19, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    I love that you mentioned the Galaxy 500!

     

Leave a Reply

 
