RSS

Sunny Saturday

10 Apr

Early this morning my day started in the garden. Several roma tomato plants spent the night in pots in the very location they would grow. The sky was speckled dramatically with clouds illuminated by the rising sun stretching them across the eastern sky. My skin was chilled by the cool air but it did not take long to warm up once I started working the soil with the shovel and then the rake.

Thoughts of recipes this summer paged through my mind while I plucked a few little blades of unwelcomed shoots. I identified the newly sprouted carrots. Planting the rich colored red beets a bit late, I await pulling them out of the soil to chop up into my favorite red soup.

There is something wonderful about enjoying what is planted in the garden, canning, preparing meals, and of course entertaining guests with a delicious meal. It is my hope that everything produces as planned since this garden is my first big garden since we moved into this house. I planted a small one last year only weeks after having my baby that had favorable results.

My flowers have bloomed beautifully and I await more varieties to pop up over the remainder of the spring. I can hardly wait to have handfuls of color and bouquets on my tabletop.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2010 in Flowers, home, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Sunny Saturday

  1. Pastor Larry

    April 10, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    Lovely flower.
    I just posted the picture of my new garden and fountain.

     
  2. wildstorm

    April 10, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    Thanks and I saw the photo on your FB page.

     
  3. fin

    April 10, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    Thanks for dropping by and commenting.

     
  4. angelcel

    April 11, 2010 at 12:31 am

    I think you and I are in the same space on this. I decided to put some veg in pots on my terrace this year and I’m currently watching the seedlings sprout, already imagining the meals that will be had from them….hopefully!

    Lovely photo. 🙂

     
  5. Swanpetal

    April 11, 2010 at 3:10 am

    I love gardening, all I have is a balcony so I just have containers. This year I planted lavender.

    This is a cute photo and it looks so warm.

     
  6. Lori

    April 11, 2010 at 5:23 am

    I’ve never had beet soup but I love beets. I make beet salad quite often in the summer with fresh beets from Marcel’s uncles garden- beets- ham (or chicken), a few diced potatoes that have been boiled, boiled egg, pickles, a little balsamic vinegar, light mayo, mustard, chives and a few other spices.. I think that’s it.. It’s SO good. We serve it with fresh whole grain french bread on those warm days when I don’t want to cook.

    Freshly grown food is the best!!!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

     
  7. burstmode

    April 11, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Beautifully done, excellent angle, lovely light.

     
  8. Ginny

    April 11, 2010 at 10:42 am

    Spring is such an uplifting time, isn’t it? Amazing how you can be cold when you start and sweaty all over by the time you’re done, even after peeling layers. It’s been glorious here. Perfect for tilling and raking and preparing soil and transplanting and starting seedlings. Like playing in the mud and end up filthy a few times during the day. Let’s get dirty! No parents to tell us not to muck up our clothes anymore.

    And fresh produce..mmm. Like watching it grow, like eating it, and like putting some aside for the winter. Always reminds me of my grandmother and mother before me as well. I followed their practice.

     
  9. yankeedog

    April 12, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    Hey, Wildstorm ex-Summerwind. I do remember the name from the old JS days.

    Thanks for commenting on my blog. I will add your site to my faves. I like photoblogs and you have some awesome pics here!

     
  10. Bobby

    April 13, 2010 at 11:16 am

    Very pretty picture. Happy Spring!!!
    Love,
    Bobby

     
  11. davecandoit

    April 13, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    Wonderful photo. Looks like spring has sprung. Yay spring!

     

Leave a Reply

 
