RSS

Whitewright, Texas

08 Apr

This is why I’ve always wanted to spend time in Whitewright. This little gem grabs my attention every single time I drive through en route to Lufkin. Either it’s early in the morning or we are too pooped on our drive to stop but I think next time we make a visit to Gramma’s house I am going to make a point and eat here. Put it on my calendar. Make sure they are open and make sure I’m not sleeping in the truck. You know how that can be on a long drive home. Sleepy eyes, dosing off head resting on the seat and before you know it, you are jarred awake as the car nails that huge pot hole just off the highway as you pull into your hometown.

There seems to be some confusion between Whitesboro and Whitewright. People in Grayson County know the two towns but ask anyone from the metroplex and they think I’m talking about Whitewright when talking about Whitesboro. That is until I mention Peanut Festival.

There is an estimated 2000 people in Whitewright and it’s a town you don’t miss while driving along the 69 in whatever direction. You don’t see much unless you get off the main road and drive into the heart of it all. The town is named after William Whitewright, a business man from New York.

If you are into tractor pulls, then Whitewright is the place to be. You’ll see along the road sign and an arena in the background with huge silver grand stands for this annual event held on Fourth of July weekend. Just be sure to stop in for some catfish at Jackie’s!

 
16 Comments

Posted by on April 8, 2010 in Photography, small towns, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

16 responses to “Whitewright, Texas

  1. Scott Thomas Photography

    April 8, 2010 at 8:24 am

    The best places to eat are these local eatery’s. This one has character on the outside and, I bet, characters inside. Nice light to give the place a bit of a 3-D look.

    Let us know if the food is good! 🙂

     
  2. slamdunk

    April 8, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Ahh, I miss fried catfish–that looks like a must stop if I ever get down that way again.

     
  3. wildstorm

    April 8, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    Thes places usually do offer the best meals don’t they Scott. I shot this image about 7 p.m. yesterday.

    SD, nothing like good catfish in these parts!

     
  4. burstmode

    April 8, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    I’ll stop by on my way to White Settlement.

     
  5. wildstorm

    April 8, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    Well, if you are going to that, then you MUST stop by Whitesboro!

     
  6. Swanpetal

    April 8, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    This looks like the kind of place that’s hoppin’ on the weekends. I am sure the food is great!

     
  7. wildstorm

    April 8, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    S, you are absolutely right. I’ve driven through here on the way home on a Saturday night and it was packed.

     
  8. Pastor Larry

    April 8, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    “en route to Lufkin” that phrase made me smile.

     
  9. loupylou

    April 9, 2010 at 3:44 am

    I so enjoy taking the scenic route and stopping at just these kind of places along the way.

     
  10. Lori

    April 9, 2010 at 11:27 am

    You defintely should eat there- I bet it’s good. Anything with catfish is good 🙂

     
  11. Les

    April 9, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    This place reminds me of one of my favorite places to eat. It’s was in an old general store with sagging floors and an old wood stove. The ladies behind the counter made everything from scratch and used whatever might be in season, and it was the best place to get Brunswick stew. They also sold local produce, stone ground grains, and old fashioned candy. Sadly, the place burned down this winter, and though it is being re-built, a lot of ambiance went up in smoke.

     
  12. regan222

    April 9, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    I bet they have amazing chicken-fried steak and gravy 🙂 We need to stop next time we go through.

     
  13. Anna Surface

    April 10, 2010 at 10:03 am

    Nothing like these little towns. The southern fried catfish sounds good. And it has been since I’ve in Texas that I have had a good chicken-fried steak and gravy (thinking about what regan222 said).

     
  14. angelcel

    April 11, 2010 at 12:36 am

    Love that photo – the golden evening light and the fact that, to me, this is quintessential America.

     
  15. Melvin Waters

    July 20, 2010 at 1:43 am

    Jackie’s is just 6 miles north of Whitewright on highway 69 at 56 (stoplight) in Bells. Whitewright does have several other places to eat in their old downtown area and on 69. Might want to visit for a really fun time during their Fall Festival, November 6th this year and it will include a classic car show and chili cook-off, vendors etc. whitewright.org also other places to eat are on the website. I like the town myself:0)

     
  16. wildstorm

    July 20, 2010 at 6:01 am

    Melvin, thank you so much for sharing this. I did not know of the Fall Festival and sounds like an event not to be missed.

     

Leave a Reply

 
