RSS

Ten Favorite Memories

05 Apr

Now that my life is full of that of a one year old baby boy, I am constantly recording in my mind, through the camera lens, and on paper special moments. This Easter Sunday, although his second, it was his first Easter that he participated with the traditions of the day. A most memorable time we all had.

Looking back over the years I recall some pretty special times that remained etched in my memory. These memories are those from the early years before my mom passed through the gates into Heaven. As I started writing this I realized how I could elaborate in great length each memory allowing each one their own post. However these will be very brief and I can write more on each one in later posts.

1. Road trips with family. My mom would pack up the car and off we went. Some outings were one day trips where others were over-nighters. Most of our trips were to nature areas: Sitting Bull Falls; Carlsbad Caverns (my ultimate favorite); Lubbock TX; Cloudcroft; White Sands; Lovington.

2. Sunday at the Park. Chaparral Park in Lovington is where we spent many Sundays after church service. We brought an ice chest of sandwiches, fruit, and soda pops. My mom would find a nice shady spot under a tree and my sister and I would race out to play on the park equipment. Later in the day, we’d cross to the other side where the ponds and fountains were to finish the day. Many of these outings included another another family.

3. Sunday at Play Day. During rodeo season, we spent those Sunday’s at various dusty arenas for Play Day. Calf ropin, barrel racing, poles, flags, and the like were the activities. We did this until Cinco couldn’t go on anymore. He was an old Quarter Horse but I was a very young kid so the relationship was just right. Eunice, Tatum, and Hobbs were the three I remember most of all. My dad was involved in these events.

4. The Bike Ride. I think I was six. My parents brought home this beat up rusty looking bike, painted it silver and put me on it. The seat was metal. Training wheels were not an option. You don’t learn as fast with training wheels. There are no training wheels on a horse, so why should there be on a bike. We lived on College Lane and it was there that warm sunny afternoon after I got home from school, my loafers on the wrong feet, that I got on my bike on the road while my mom was standing in the drive way and off I went. It was the most exciting day.

5. Riding in the pastures. I cannot narrow this to any one particular event, but if it involved riding Cinco, then I loved it. We lived on ten acres. My mom would saddle up my horse and I’d ride for a few hours in one of the pastures. Sometimes I would ride down the road. And when my dad was home, I would ride with him. That was always an adventure too because he carried his gun and would shoot rabbits. This frightened me some because my horse would jump. Being six years old, those things seemed much larger in scale than they do now.

6. Dinner with Paul Harvey. Mom would call us in the house on warm days at noon when we were outide playing in the yard. She always had a good lunch, often made from scratch. Dad always had a tall glass of ice tea. And Paul Harvey sat in the window sill delivering “The Rest Of The Story”.

7. Band. It was sixth grade when I joined band and learned to play my clarinet. I still have the instrument, recently padded and corked. My parents both were in band and encouraged this. I loved every minute of it. Throughout my time in Hobbs, I played in band and my mom attended every event.

8. Trips to Yuma. My maternal grandparents lived in Yuma Arizona throughout much of my life. I recall clearly the many drives we took from Hobbs to Yuma and the time spent there in the summer. It’s hot there and a kid does not forget how great swimming pool feels in the afternoon. One does not forget gramma’s great food and grampa’s excursions around town in his white Ford truck.

9. Land Of The Lost. My favorite show of my whole childhood. I would get up at 5 a.m. just to watch it.

10. The Weinerschnitzel. On Turner in the Broadmore Shopping Center was situated a big a-frame structure with a bright yellow roof. The drive through was right in the middle of it. And we loved eating there more for this fact than the food. Although I did like the dogs very much.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2010 in home, New Mexico, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Ten Favorite Memories

  1. Bobby

    April 5, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Beautiful memories. Interesting to see life through another perspective.

    I have never been to Yuma.

    Love,
    Bobby

     
  2. wildstorm

    April 5, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    Bobby, Yuma certainly has changed a whole bunch over the past 20 years. It used to be a nice small desert town home to Winter birds and retirees. It still is but is a very big place now.

     
  3. loupylou

    April 5, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    Great memories!

     
  4. Joan

    April 5, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    I love these. Sometimes it is the little things, the smells, tastes, moods that make an impression.

     
  5. Debra Conrad

    April 6, 2010 at 11:12 am

    Lived in Yuma all my 53 years – as did my Dad after his Dad moved the family here around 1925.

    All large cities started a small towns… Yuma is one of “those” that has kept it’s small town flavor!

    Oh – And it’s still HOT as ever in July and Aug. :0)

     
  6. wildstorm

    April 6, 2010 at 11:21 am

    Hi Debra. Thanks so much for your comment. You do know Yuma! So glad it’s kept it’s feel. It’s always been a very special place for me, even though my grandparents are no longer there.

     
  7. davecandoit

    April 6, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    What a fabulous photo! Really nice capture.

    As for favourite memories, wow, that’s a toughy. As a kid I remember my Mom making me hot dogs and tomato soup for lunch, and eating it while watching The Andy Griffith Show. That was my favourite show back then. I had such a miserable time at school as a child, so this lunch time break was a much needed respite from the day to day horrors of the classroom.

    By the way, I’m changing my blog and was hoping you could update my URL address in your blogroll. My new URL is:

    http://www.lazyphotographer.ca

    Right now it’s pointing to my current blog but will change once the new one is complete.

    Thanks.
    Dave

     
  8. This Eclectic Life

    April 7, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    I can’t wait to hear the stories! Carlsbad Caverns was a favorite of mine, too. And, Paul Harvey? Oh, my goodness … he was a regular household “guest,” wasn’t he?

     
  9. Lori

    April 9, 2010 at 11:28 am

    I love this- I’m going to have to think of some of my favorites and do the same on my blog-

    You know- we used to listen to ‘the rest of the story’ as well.

     

Leave a Reply

 
