RSS

It’s A Small World–Let’s Have Dinner

03 Apr

Blogging crept into my life in 2000 when I started writing at the now defunct Themestream. That sight provided opportunites to write and make a few bucks and was used much differently than this WordPress blog. My work tended to be health related articles and entries relating to a variety of writing challenges.

Following the rise and fall of Themestream I was invited by my high school friend, Teraisa Goldman aka True Crime Fanatic, to Journalspace. It was there that my blogging addiction was planted. For about four years Journalspace was the spot I wrote about my horse and began a more photographic blog. It gradually evolved but was always known as my horse blog. I kept up with many bloggers there until this blogging site kicked the bucket the end of 2008. Much like Themestream, Journalspace was a blogging community. Its death had such a profound impact on its writers.

During that period a number of friendships were formed and nurtured. My job allowed me to travel nationwide hence I got to meet a few of my all-time favorite bloggers. One being Joan Perry. Joan showed me a most fabulous evening in Charleston several years ago while I was working in Mt Pleasant. Her blog will take you on a most interesting tour of Charleston and other interesting parts of the world. Stop by, say hello.

Every once in a while I surprise my husband with “Honey, we are having company tomorrow and it’s someone I’ve never met before”. Bless his heart, he allows this time and time again. Thursday night, I invited another blogger whom I have read for about 2 years from WordPress. Visiting Dallas from Netherlands, the very talented Aafke and her friend joined us at our home for a Texas style dinner. My husband and I could have spent all day with them! I wanted her to meet my Arab, Carter, but we just didn’t have enough time. Her blog I have followed most closely is Aafke Art. Pay her a visit. It is her love for horses and her atistic talent that kept my returning. Now I have a new friend. And thank you so much Aafke for the painting of my Arabian.

There are others who I have met in person or whom I have only spoken to by phone and shared email correspondence. Most of these blogging friendships I have maintained for years. Fellow readers, this includes my best friend of all–my husband. But I met him on Match.com–a topic for a different post.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2010 in home, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “It’s A Small World–Let’s Have Dinner

  1. Ginny

    April 3, 2010 at 9:47 am

    Nice to find your blog, Windstorm. We have a lot in common. I like to take unusual pictures and also love my horses as you know. Was on journalspace for a short time. Glad to be in touch with you.
    Ginny

     
  2. kseverny

    April 3, 2010 at 10:25 am

    wow, i didn’t know blogging went that far back.
    interesting talk

     
  3. joan

    April 3, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    I love hearing about blog meet-ups and enjoyed meeting you!

     
  4. wildwesty

    April 4, 2010 at 11:14 am

    I sure wish I could have added you to my list of JS meets back when I visited Dallas. Unfortunately my trips back to the States will be getting more and more rare. 😦

     
  5. Lori

    April 4, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    I will have to check your friend out and see where she lives here. That is so cool. I’ve love to meet you and I’d also love to meet Joan.

    I love those glasses. They are beautiful!

    Happy Easter!

     
  6. Teraisa J. Goldman Rogers

    April 4, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    Whoo-hoo~ we have the BEST husbands! Love you and love your blog. Keep on writing. 😉

     
  7. Teraisa J. Goldman Rogers

    April 4, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    Hey, Westy, great to see you here!

     
  8. Jack Matthews

    April 4, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    Interesting that blogging friends become visible. I can see why. You’ve been blogging a long time. I’ve written all my life, primarily academic. It’s quite different for me. I don’t have an editor when I blog and no juried posts. Wished I did sometimes.

     
  9. BethanyC

    April 4, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    I’m with Wiz, I love those glasses.

    I also relate with the blogging friendships, as I met my best friend and love blogging at… Journalspace. Also, the car I drive was bought from another blogger in another city when he traded up. In fact, several of my blogging relationships have moved out into the real world.

    I’m really enjoying your wordpress iteration.

     
  10. wildstorm

    April 4, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    Ginny, I’ve enjoyed your blog too. Glad we have connected.

    KS, I don’t know if it was blogging back then in 2000 but I refer to it as that since it was a writing site similar to what I do now.

    Joan, anytime you are in the Dallas area, I’ll have you up for a visit.

    Westy, I had always regretted not knowing you better and being on your list of stops during your travels. You are always welcome.

    Lori, Aafke’s just an awesome individual. And it would be such an awesome event if we could have a JS reunion. In Dallas of course!

    Love you Teraisa.

    Jack, blogging is now part of my life.

    Bethany, I am so glad you are here and I enjoy your blog very much. Thanks for reading.

     
  11. Pastor Larry

    April 5, 2010 at 8:23 am

    Yes I miss journalspace and nothing else has been quite like it. I even won a JS T-shirt that I still wear from tie to time.
    I loved your horse pictures on JS and all the west Texas pictures that reminded me of home.

     
  12. Ginny

    April 5, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Jack, I am an academic also and am used to having editors and rewrites and such but here you have an authentic audience and it’s a way to just let go and write.

    Wildstorm, really feel honored you read my blog.

    Thanks much.

    Like having readers. Feels less lonely in etherspace.

     
  13. wildstorm

    April 5, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Pastor Larry, I miss the old days of JS too. It just cannot be replicated. I have not gotten tothe panhandle as much these past 2 years to get new photos or bits to share on this page. But I appreciate very much when you stop by!

     
  14. This Eclectic Life

    April 7, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    A great photo! I’m relatively new to the blogging world (only 3 years), but I understand how those friendships form. Isn’t it delightful to meet in person someone you only knew from the words? I love putting a “voice” to their online voice.

     

Leave a Reply

 
