RSS

Constipated?

26 Mar

This photo was shot in 2008 in Phoenix AZ along the freeway. It wasn’t the interstate 10. Wherever it was it entertained my thoughts everytime I passed it.

No one likes this question. Especially if it is asked by a complete stranger such as myself. Such a personal inquiry. Yet there are some who will tell me their entire life long digestive history, including habits, mishaps, and meds. I just take notes for it is the assessment I am conducting.

I am sure that this should have been my specialty. Back in the day, the mid 90’s, I was a new RN and single. As a new mother and an RN working with seniors, poop has become part of my daily routine. Horse poop, baby poop, cat poop. I change poopy diapers for baby’s and adults (at work), shovel horse poop, use horse poop as manure, and sometimes deal with a lot of bull poop. I spend as little time with the latter as possible. Poop says alot about a person, character and all.

Perhaps you don’t find this post appealing. I don’t care too much for poop myself but there is absolutely no escape from it. During health histories, I ask about this very subject. Some people are short and brief, while others expand on their entire life-long bowel story. I don’t know why but people are very open in sharing this very personal part of their lives with me, even stranges. For when they discover I am an RN, little is held back.

The best advice I can give you regarding the subject: Be careful what you eat and who you shoot the poop with. Less likely that you will get stopped up. For you have your own to deal with.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2010 in Arizona, Signs

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Constipated?

  1. maurita

    March 26, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    My paternal grandmother was obsessed with her bowel movements. I swore I would never end up like her, and fortunately (for now), you can set your watch by me. Drinking plenty of water helps!

     
  2. Aafke

    March 26, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    I’m too pooped right now to write a long comment…

     
  3. Desiree

    March 26, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    hahahahaha amazing.

     
  4. exileimaging

    March 27, 2010 at 8:47 am

    It’s getting deep in here…

    Well, your story put a smile on my face! I think we all have some poop related incident in our lives that are amusing, if only to us.

     
  5. Jack Matthews

    March 27, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    Yes, poop is all around us. Occasionally, we all shovel a bit of it.

     
  6. angelcel

    March 30, 2010 at 4:01 am

    Well as my mother-in-law says, even the Pope puts his trousers on the same way and poops just like the rest of us! We shouldn’t be embarrassed about this bodily function that is common to all of us animals, and yet we are. (Love that roadside advertisement)! 🙂

     
  7. This Eclectic Life

    April 2, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    I used to be a nursing home administrator, and it always saddened me when the new residents began to talk about their bowel movements. Then I knew they had become “institutionalized.”
    Great sign!

     
  8. wildstorm

    April 2, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    I’ve been in the senior living industry for a very long time. I certainly understand “institutionalization”. And bowel movements seems to always be the topic of conversation.

     

Leave a Reply

 
