RSS

Bell Mountain, California

21 Mar

This photo is probably around ten years old. I shot it out the windshield while driving on Stoddard Wells Road looking for a board and care home in the upper desert back in the day I worked in residential care. I have many shots of this area but all on print. It was taken with my little point-and-shoot Kodak Easyshare.

Bell Mountain sits just north of Apple Valley on the east side of I-15 on Bell Mountain Road and Stoddard Wells Road. You can’t miss it. There is a Bell Mountain community that once had a post office. Now it is considered Apple Valley.

I lived in Victorville for several years prior to moving to Texas. I really prefer Apple Valley to Victorville and as I write, the area has changed significantly over the past ten years. The last time I was there was 2007. While searching the web for information of Bell Mountain I found this little gem of a historical website.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2010 in California, Photography, small towns

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Bell Mountain, California

  1. Jack Matthews

    March 21, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    Good shot with the Kodak. Bell Mountain was probably a visual for those on the trail? I’ll look at the historical website.

     
  2. burstmode

    March 21, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    Good Lord…as a statistician, this is an almost perfect bell curve.

     
  3. Ronnie McIntosh

    March 21, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    Great photo! I hear it snowed again in the Dallas area yesterday. My wife is down there with our youngest girl who is due with their 2nd baby this friday. I talked with her tonite and she said there was just enough snow to leave a ground cover. And the day bvefore it was in the 70’s down there.Go figure! Hope you and yours will have a great week ahead.

     
  4. Sue

    December 28, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    I’m new to California and recently drove up near the Bell Mountain area on the way to Vegas. What is that earthen structure west of I 15 nestled close to the mountain???

     

Leave a Reply

 
