RSS

First Day Of Spring

20 Mar

As all North Texan’s are writing/saying, “and it’s snowing”. My garden has been started with broccoli, onins, lettuce, spinach, carrots, beets, and snap peas. There is a calendar I follow. Everything is popping up through the soil–those tender little sprouts stretching upward toward the warm sunshine. Today I covered them all to protect against this uninvited cold front that plans to spend the weekend with me.

Today is the first day of Spring and I have been walking each day carrying the baby in order to drop these winter pounds. I’ve also been in search of new life to photograph. My husband seeks bugs and frogs. I seek plant life. Our pasture is full of it.

While this intruding weather settles in for a couple of days, I will get some necessities done around the house along with half day sleeping since I work night shifts all weekend. Afterall, what can one do when it’s 38 outside and raining. Really.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 20, 2010 in Flowers, Photography, Texas, weather

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “First Day Of Spring

  1. This Eclectic Life

    March 20, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    This snow is the silliest thing I can imagine. We didn’t have snow like this when I was growing up. I’m glad you take your camera with you when you walk. Delightful shot of the mushroom. I always am amazed to see the different kinds that pop up everywhere.

     
  2. Jack Matthews

    March 20, 2010 at 10:35 pm

    Good mushroom shot. We’ve had snow pellets up here. Took photos of Salt Creek, deer track. Brenda covered up plants she had potted two days ago.

     
  3. slamdunk

    March 21, 2010 at 11:45 am

    The night shift on a weekend was tough. I hope you get some rest, and the weather warms soon.

     
  4. wildstorm

    March 21, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    That third shift isn’t bad really, except when you have to drive on ice at 6 a.m. coming home in the morning! Thanks SD.

     
  5. wildstorm

    March 21, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    Thanks a bunch Jack Matthews! I appreciate your visit and am interested in your blog.

     
  6. wildstorm

    March 21, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Shelly, we’ve got so many varieties on the 40 acres of land and it’s always fun to find so many new ones. As for the snow, it can go!

     
  7. carl

    March 23, 2010 at 9:56 am

    woooohooo.. welcome spring..
    i’ll be going back home to enjoy the spring.

     

Leave a Reply

 
