RSS

Wills Point, Texas

18 Mar

They call it the Bluebird Capital of Texas. And by the looks of things around town, one could guess there might be a bluebird festival every year in this historic little town in Van Zandt county. There are murals, birdhouses, and a number of other objects found in the town to indicate the significance of this bird.

Work put me here a week ago. It has been my furthermost assignment and one that I really enjoyed. But I’m not talking about work for this blog is not about my career. Someone asked me recently what I do for a living. I’m a nurse. Once a nurse, always a nurse, but not in the clinical setting. So that’s all you need to know about my career.

On to the Majestic. This movie theater has been in operation for a very long time. I was told by a local, it opened in the mid 20’s. He also said that movies that are shown there are family movies. If anyone wants to see anything other than that, they can drive themselves to Dallas, only 40 miles down the road.
It is a single screen theater and by what I was told and what I have read is supposed to be the oldest family owned/operated theater in Texas.

Downtown Wills Point screams with character of days gone by. Shops and business line the brick paved streets with the railroad just a block away. In fact, the train station has been renovated and sits right on the west side of town along the 80. My time was limited however in this little gold mine of photo opportunity. Furthermore, in a mad rush to get out the door that morning to make my 10 a.m. appointment, I left my Nikon on my desk. This shot was taken with my phone. Thank goodness such a thing exists.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2010 in Phone cam, Photography, small towns, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Wills Point, Texas

  1. Slamdunk

    March 18, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    I love historic buildings and towns. Excellent shot even with your backup camera…

     
  2. BethanyC

    March 19, 2010 at 7:12 am

    One of my friends grew up in Wills Point. I never visited her there and it is nice to see the “glimpse”. I always had the urge to stop in when I was driving by on I-20 and would see the sign, probably should have.

     
  3. maurita

    March 20, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    The Majestic. Fantastic name, and a fantastic cell phone photo!

     
  4. Maggie Mae

    March 20, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    Real America! God bless it and thanks for the glimpse.

     
  5. This Eclectic Life

    March 20, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    I’ve stomped around in Wills Point, before! I cannot believe you got such a great shot with your camera phone. And, yes … thank goodness there is such a thing.

     
  6. davecandoit

    March 20, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    What a cool shot. I love old theatres. We have a few left in Toronto, but not many. I’ve always had this unrealistic dream of owning a movie theatre. Movies are a bit of a hobby of mine.

     
  7. wildstorm

    March 20, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    We enjoy movies too Dave. This place is a real treasure. I told my husband that we just might make a trip to the area and while there, eat at a local restaurant and catch a movie at that theater.

     
  8. wildstorm

    March 20, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    I’ve got a Rogue and it takes GREAT shots.

     
  9. burstmode

    March 21, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    I liked the movie…

     
  10. exileimaging

    March 26, 2010 at 9:45 am

    Nice photo, can’t believe it came from a phone! Always interested in small towns and their history. We haven’t made a trip up to north Texas yet; might have to plan something for the fall. Thanks for the story!

     

Leave a Reply

 
