RSS

Fate, Texas

01 Mar

It’s one of those towns. You know, a town that callers are likely to contact George Nory. Ghost stories are told and written.

When you first come into Fate it appears as a newly developed community with a contempoary water tower and cookie cutter homes. I am not fond of those kinds of neighborhoods myself, but there are some subdivisions with what appears to be custom homes. Change is apparent in this town, a little bit of old with a whole lot of new.

East of Dallas, take the 551 exit off the 30 and head north about a mile and you are in downtown. A few small businesses line the roadway and intersection and this park is just a few yards north. As with many little agricultural towns still surviving, a train makes its way though each day.

I had to work here yesterday and packed my camera in case I discovered something unique. I didn’t find much in Fate except for an aged intersection of businesses and the local grocier. This is unlike Farmersville or Caddo Mills. But I was not there long enough to talk to anyone. You can find a bit of history right here.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 1, 2010 in Photography, small towns, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Fate, Texas

  1. Pastor Larry

    March 2, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    Love the flags picture

     
  2. wildstorm

    March 2, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Thanks Pastor Larry! The flag poles appear to be leaning don’t they. It might have been the lens I was using and/or the settings.

     
  3. Doug

    March 3, 2010 at 9:23 am

    The left side of the monument is closer to the camera, and I think those poles are a tad off. I don’t see any keystoning on the other side of the photo. You might have tilted the camera a bit, but it’s not enough to make the poles look like that 🙂

     
  4. Pastor Larry

    March 3, 2010 at 10:46 am

    It could have been a strong wind too 😉

     
  5. Jonny

    March 3, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    You can only see my pictures in LiveJournal-I can not post pictures in WordPress-peace Jonny

     
  6. This Eclectic Life

    March 4, 2010 at 7:55 am

    Now you have me hankering to visit Fate. Ghost stories? I want them!

     

Leave a Reply

 
