RSS

Prairie Haven Cemetery, Hobbs, NM

20 Feb

This photo has been on my desktop for several months. It was taken in 2006 while making my way back to the airport in Lubbock from Roswell. I took the scenic route since Hobbs isn’t exactly along the direct route. I like photographing cemeteries and have a small collection taken throughout West TX along the 380.

There are some names I recongnized as I drove along the path. Names of parents/grandparents of kids I went to elementry school with. A couple of names of people my own age that I knew when I was living in Hobbs. You never know where people are going to end up.

I walked amongst the gravestones decorated in season. Standing next to one I looked southwest over the fence at the vast flatness of the landscape while the wind whispered song. I listened for a moment and gazed into my own memory and recalled her voice, her warm embrace. My mom still lives in my heart.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2010 in Cemeteries, New Mexico, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Prairie Haven Cemetery, Hobbs, NM

  1. Ginny

    February 20, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    I too like to photograph cemeteries and have done so at Pere La Chez where Jim Morrison and Proust and Chaucer among others are buried, and in Iceland and Ireland and old, historical places. There’s a feeling in cemeteries….

     
  2. wildwesty

    February 21, 2010 at 12:12 am

    it looks so different from a German cemetary. Did you know that plots here are “rented” for about 30 yrs, then, if the rent isn’t extended, the plot gets dug out and reused for someone else. OK, we don’t have all that space that the USA has. 🙂

    Happy Birthday, Anita!! {{{hugs}}}

     
  3. Doug

    February 21, 2010 at 10:59 am

    Happy Birthday, Anita!

    I haven’t been to a cemetery in a while, but spring is coming. I really like the light in that photo.

     
  4. Marie

    February 22, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    I can’t go home without visiting the cemetary. It brings back so many memories.

     
  5. BethanyC

    February 23, 2010 at 10:00 am

    My folks lived in Hobbs for a short while before I was born. I drove through years later. It was exciting to see the town I’d heard about.

     
  6. Suellen Potter

    June 12, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    Could anyone have known Ruth and Al Green in Hobbs, NM? My cousin and I are looking for burial location of them and her parents – most likely at least 3 urns. Ruth was my grandmother.

     
  7. Suellen Potter

    June 12, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    a very nice photo, by the way.

     
  8. Michelle

    May 19, 2014 at 12:31 am

    Beautiful picture but the strange part is, both sets of my grandparents headstones are in it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
