RSS

Caddo Mills, Texas

19 Feb

“What on Earth is in Caddo Mills?” I asked myself this question as I drove toward Greenville out of McKinney. A resident of this town of about 1500 people gave me instructions to her house with all the fervor and enthusiasm as if Caddo Mills is the treasure of Texas. I suppose it is in its own aspect. We all feel some regard for out town being the center of the universe. Our universe.

Caddo Mills has a story as most little towns do. It got started around a grist mill back around 1850. Grain was ground there in case you wondering what the grist mill is. Get a store, a church and a post office and you’ve got a town. Throw in a railroad and you will have growth. However events significant such as the Great Depression tend to hinder the success of a nook. But it’s heart still beats strong and this tight little community has an interesting history. Why there is even a historical society.

My time in Caddo Mills was very limited and I hardly had enough time to leave the area to take a picture of something on this very gloomy day two weeks ago. I used my Nikon and took no time to set the aperture. The photo came out rather blue. Just a tinsy little bit of historgram adjustment with red took out the blue and this photo presents more accurate.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2010 in Photography, small towns, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Caddo Mills, Texas

  1. bblissful

    February 19, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    Oh, but I DO love the blues in this photo!

     
  2. wildwesty

    February 20, 2010 at 4:15 am

    it’s always interesting to learn the history of places like that. Thanks for sharing!

     
  3. Lynda

    August 23, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    Thanks for the trip back in time. My greatgrand father raised his family there . My grandfather was borned there in 1877 and my father in 1903

     
  4. Kristin

    March 17, 2015 at 6:46 am

    I lived there all of my childhood. I miss living in such a tight community. At the time of my graduation I was 1 of 93 students who graduated. It truely is a place where everyone knows your name.

     

Leave a Reply

 
