RSS

Let’s Eat

03 Feb

This morning I shared my bowl of oatmeal with my baby J. It has become routine these days to have a bowl of hot cereal each morning during this cold season. Furthermore, now that there is a new life to share, I have no choice but to prepare at about the same time each morning a favorite dish. Oatmeal fills his little tummy. I then put him on his mat on the floor with his juice bottle and he quietly watches Sid the Science Kid on PBS while I quickly get some chores done.

The photo above is a couple of years old. Baby Girl still looks the same though, all fuzzy standing next to her round bale munching keeping warm. Some of my non-horse readers and friends often ask how they stay warm on these cold days. We do have places the horses can go for shelter. However what keeps them warm is digestion. The digestion of fiber generates heat. That fiber comes from alfalfa or grass hay. They continue to get their scoop of feed and that helps but it is not the same as hay.

She has gained much of her weight back but needs toning and muscle. I put her in the round corral a couple of times recently and of course she looked at me like I was crazy but she trotted at liberty as I asked her too and got a little bit of exercise. It’s been too cold to be out there with her lately but as it warms up, I’ll start doing some ground training with her. She is very gentle and I’d like her to be able to carry around J as he gets older and learns to ride. But first, I must trim her hooves and that needs to be done now regardless of how cold it is. Brrr.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2010 in My horses, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Let’s Eat

  1. mrssoup

    February 3, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    Awww, she is so cute. There is something so lovely about the shaggy winter coats!

     
  2. bambooska

    February 4, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    How old is the baby horse now?

     
  3. Pastor Larry

    February 7, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Love the horse 🙂

     
  4. Preston Surface

    February 15, 2010 at 7:38 am

    Wonderful captivating photo of Baby Girl.

     

Leave a Reply

 
