RSS

Basset Hound Rescue — The Saga Continues

15 Jan

Margo came home with us January 2, 2010. On Monday I took her to my vet who checked her for a micro-chip. She had none. My husband and I had discussed options and possibly keeping her as our own. But we both are not ready to do so. This sweet hound is house-broke but I had her spend much of the time outside in the yard. The days we had very cold weather, she stayed indoors.

I had remained in contact with Basset Hound Rescuefor adoption options. I applied to foster her and this organization has specific requirements. They have been a wealth of information to me and I am very happy to have their help. I sent a description of Margo with plenty of pictures. Since she has gained weight since I brought her home, she looks much better and happier too.

Next week, we will go to Denton to the vet and meet one of the Basset Rescue representatives who will help place her right away. It is important that she does not stay with me much longer for she will then consider this home. She probably already does since she gets quite a bit of love and attention! She has dug a few holes in my yard though and if you have kept up with my blog over the past 12 months, you know how important gardening is to me. I cannot have a hole-digging hound dog!

There’s more. I will update next week after her visit with the vet.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

15 responses to “Basset Hound Rescue — The Saga Continues

  1. Les

    January 15, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    Margo is too cute. I have had two Bassets in my life and they are great dogs. I am sorry she will not fit in with your family, but bless you for taking care of her.

     
  2. Cat, Chaps and Emma Rudert

    January 15, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    Hey! Thanks for the update! Good for you! I was thrilled to see you new post!

    Cat

    bassethoundtown.com

     
  3. Pastor Larry

    January 15, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    Cute dog some one should be looking for it.

     
  4. Ronnie McIntosh

    January 16, 2010 at 1:35 am

    What a great looking 4 legged friend you have there Im sure the owner wil be glad you found her. Hope you have a great weekend

     
  5. Wes

    January 16, 2010 at 2:24 am

    I’ve been browsing. That sunset pic is awessome

     
  6. Preston Surface

    January 17, 2010 at 8:53 am

    It is great you are going through such effort in placement of this dog. I bet she will get a wonderful home.

     
  7. slamdunk

    January 18, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    Glad that you are involved in helping. We had a temporary dog resident here for a few weeks, and their is always the good and the bad. The kids loved it though.

     
  8. Maggie Mae

    January 19, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    Those are the longest ears I have ever seen!
    She chose you because of your big heart, whatever you do will be for her better.

     
  9. baysidelady

    January 21, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    What a sweet dog Margo looks like! I have always loved Bassett’s 🙂
    It would be nice if you could keep her, as I just bet Margo is quite attached to you folks by now.
    Your little one would have a pet already!

    It’s wonderful what you are doing and keeping in contact with the Bassett Rescue people! Whatever you decide to do, I know Margo will always remember your kindness and generousity. 🙂

     
  10. Wes

    January 22, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    hey you thanks for stopping by

     
  11. Swanpetal

    January 23, 2010 at 6:16 am

    He’s a cutie! I think animals, like people, come into our lives for a reason. Even though I think you should’ve kept him, I am sure the rescue will find a great home for him.

     
  12. wildstorm

    January 23, 2010 at 11:39 am

    Thanks for the kind comments. We thought long and hard about keeping Margo. Basset hounds have characteristics though that just didn’t fit for us. We love her though and know the perfect family will find her. I have signed up to foster other basset hounds in the future so there just might be more writings of such.

     
  13. Adolph Urteaga

    February 12, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    Stopping puppy mills and other types of animal neglect is very important to me.

     
  14. hector

    October 22, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    What a beautiful lady! I’m falling in love! 🙂

     
  15. wildstorm

    December 15, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    Thank you so much for your comment and visit to my blog.

     

Leave a Reply

 
