RSS

Basset Hound–Rescued

05 Jan

This is the newest member to our family–but a temporary membership. It is my hope that we find her owner or a home full of love. She may have a micro-chip and this I will find out this week.

The story goes like this:

On the way home from Sallisaw
for a visit with my niece and her ma
We cruised along with highway
The sun had set and closed the day

We stopped in Durant for some food
But shopping put us in the mood
I let the baby play with my phone
While we shopped at Orscheln Farm & Home

After dinner at some fast fish joint
We overlooked one small point
The baby’s diaper needed a change
A stop on the highway we needed to arrange

Well lit gas stations are a must
So many people you must distrust
Our time at the station was very short
For our families awaited our transport

We pulled onto the busy street
made up of gravel, pavement and concrete.
Two dogs wandered aimlessly
Into oncoming traffic on this cold eve.

The car slammed on their brakes
While a I put my hands over my face.
The big truck honked his horn
almost hitting the dog I could have sworn

We pulled over onto the side
It was safety we could provide.
The hound jumped into her lap
and Courtney burned rubber asap.

In my lap the basset hound snored
While we drove to our homes we explored
thoughts and ideas for finding her a home
where she could run, play, and roam.

We knew we were in big trouble
For this rescue feathers would ruffle
We were called by our middle names
Though we knew we were the ones who would take blame.

The hound is safe in her kennel
Her barks are howling and boastful
I search for a home while she is with us
to keep her from again being homeless.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2010 in Oklahoma, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , ,

10 responses to “Basset Hound–Rescued

  1. burstmode

    January 5, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    hehehe….dogs; they always bring more out of us than we knew we had.

     
  2. kate

    January 5, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    Best wishes finding her owners. She’s a beauty!

     
  3. wildstorm

    January 5, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    She’s a love.

     
  4. Swanpetal

    January 5, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    Aw she’s cute, and great poem on the story. I hope you find a good home for her… it always makes me sad to see dogs running loose, just want to help them all.

    I am thinking of adding a new member to my family, but still, my cat has her say in it all.

     
  5. Sunny

    January 5, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    The poochie is a darling 🙂 I hope you will be able to find it a good home !

    Excellant poetry to tell your story 🙂 Loved it!

     
  6. Cat, Chaps and Emma Rudert

    January 5, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    Wow – thanks for saving her. You have my e-mail if you need me to alert my basset hound network. I don’t know if I can help, but I can sure try.

    Cat
    bassethoundtowncom

     
  7. Doug

    January 5, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    I hope someone didn’t abandon her, she is a beauty. I have a soft spot for hounds.

    A worthy subject for your poem 🙂

     
  8. Maggie Mae

    January 5, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    Good story, good photo, GREAT gesture, as a fellow member of the canine species thanks for the big heart. 🙂
    Thanks, Maggie Mae
    On Maggie’s blog I once quoted her as saying “a man never stands taller than when he stoops to pet a dog”. I think in this case a woman never stands taller than when she stops to help a dog. 🙂
    Thanks for the big heart, Lonnie

     
  9. wildstorm

    January 5, 2010 at 11:32 pm

    I’m a self-proclaimed foster parent for hounds. This one, that is. Cat, I’ve sent you an email.

     
  10. Anna Surface

    January 6, 2010 at 8:31 am

    What a sweet basset hound. I had a mixed basset hound for 15 years named Buster. I hope you find the owner or a forever home for her.

     

Leave a Reply

 
