RSS

Sadler United Methodist Church

23 Dec

“First called Quillin’s Chapel. This church was organized in September 1876 in a schoolhouse just west of Sadler Cemetery, The Rev. William M. Robbins (1836-1898), then serving the Dexter Circuit, was the founding pastor J.P. Collier, E.J. Cravens, William Jones, James Mitchell, and W. S. Robinson were the original trustees. Renamed Salem Methodist Church in 1880, the congregation became Sadler Methodist when it moved to this site in 1895. Local contractor Joe Canker erected the present church building in 1910.” (History)

The year 2010 brings more photo opportunities both with my baby and with all that I love in nature. Spring 2009 I did not get out much to take photos of the Texas bluebonnets or stormy sky since I had given birth and brough home this little bundle of joy. It is my goal to shoot daily and post in a 365 gallery or blog. This most likely will develop into random shots although I do have several projects I would like to accomplish: sky 365; 10:00 a.m. 365; self portrait 365. The latter is very unlikely but is a popular project.

I have not worked much with my Holgas because I don’t have dark room supplies and it is really burdensome to take my 120 film to the metroplex. Living in rural American brings about fabulous photo opportunities but leaves little choice with developing of film.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 23, 2009 in Churches, Photography, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Sadler United Methodist Church

  1. Anna Surface

    December 24, 2009 at 9:59 am

    Some of these old churches have such wonderful architecture. I love the Texas bluebonnets and miss seeing them…. Texas my native homeland. 🙂

    Merry Christmas & Happy Holidays to you and yours from Preston and I. 🙂

     
  2. Doug

    December 24, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    Hi, A. Merry Christmas to you, hubby and wee one 🙂

     
  3. Swanpetal

    December 25, 2009 at 11:56 am

    That is a beautiful church. I hope you and your family have a wonderful and merry Christmas!

     
  4. Pastor Larry

    December 28, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    I served several churches that looked a lot like that.

     
  5. sartenada

    February 4, 2010 at 6:00 am

    Hi.

    I would to see inside views of this beautiful church.

     

Leave a Reply

 
