RSS

Scanned in Chicago

19 Dec

Way back when, I carried an Olympus around with me and thought I had a pretty awesome camera a teen could carry around. I treasured it. Previous posts make reference to this little camera. The photo shot with the Olympus is scanned and is of the inside of building in Chicago, August 1986.

That was an interesting year. I was 19. I wanted to tour the US and visit family and did so on my own. Perhaps I will dig out more photos from this trip and post later for it was a cross country excursion.

Where were you in 1986?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2009 in Illinois, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Scanned in Chicago

  1. Doug

    December 20, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    I wish I had started earlier with a camera, and taken arts in high school instead of math and science.

    1986, already 31, and at my still current job for seven years. My boys were two and almost five. I have always lived in or near Kingston, ON.

     
  2. kate

    December 20, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    In 1986 I was working up in Northern Alberta as a waitress. The Oil Boom was in full swing! I met Jamie’s dad there abd by spring break up we were headed for Vancouver Island for the summer. I was 21 that year!

     
  3. Pastor Larry

    December 21, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    I was in Raymore Missouri where my wife and I
    co-pastored a Christian church!

     
  4. Anna Surface

    December 21, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    Nice shot for way back then with the Olympus with all the angles. Neat that you still have your early shots too! 🙂

     
  5. davecandoit

    December 22, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    What a neat shot. 1986 was a good year for me. I’d just project managed the renovation of a 19 unit apartment building a partner and I bought after a major fire. Sold the building a year later and made a small fortune. I was only 25 at the time. I owned a Canon AE1 I bought used. Unfortunately, I had no patience for or appreciation of it. I found film photography to be remarkably tedious and unrewarding. It wasn’t until this year, actually, that I revisited photography, but with a digital camera. Now I’m hooked. I shoot with a 4-yr-old, $149. Panasonic point & shoot. How about you?

     
  6. epicswife

    March 14, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    Wow that is a very cool shot !!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
