RSS

West Texas List

16 Dec

First of all, this photo was taken a few years ago early morning on some very lonely road on my way home from Lubbock. No map and no idea, I drove eastbound because if you drive far enough you’ll end up in Dallas. That’s how it is here. You see a lot of this kind of thing in the country. This little shack probably has some use. At least it sets the scene for what it’s all about in this part of the country.

Lists interest me. I like reading bloggers lists and I like writing my own. The photo above influences this list:

Ten country favorites:

1. The smell of fresh cut alfalfa. Food for my horse
2. Big tractors–all kinds
3. Irrigation systems
4. Cattle ranches and oil fields. Maybe that’s two but they often share the same plot of land.
5. Miles of farm land with nothing else to be seen but maybe a tractor and a passing pick-up truck.
6. Cotton fields just before harvest
7. Small towns with great big silos
8. High school football. During the season, that is all that matters.
9. That thunderhead building in that big Texas sky in May.
10. The cafe on the corner where you can walk in, be greeted as if they know you, drink a glass of sweet tea and reflect on a hard days work.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2009 in Photography, Texas, TtV

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “West Texas List

  1. Doug

    December 16, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    If that little shed is close to the road it might be for pickups or deliveries. We have some old ones here, they used to be for milk storage till the milk truck arrived.

     
  2. Les

    December 16, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Maybe it was a dry place out of the wind for kids to wait for the school bus.

    We drove to Colorado from our home in Virginia through Kansas. I was struck by many things, including the lack of trees, which is different from here where if you turn your back on a patch of vacant land, a forest arises. However, what I liked about those towns in the treeless part of Kansas, was that the grain silos took on the persona of cathederals.

     
  3. Ronnie McIntosh

    December 16, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    If I may Id like to add a favorite “country” thing to your fine list–Listening to the bullfrog singing bass on the pond.

     
  4. Pastor Larry

    December 18, 2009 at 8:29 am

    There may have been other buildings with it a long time ago and this is the only thing left standing. It could also have been a well house for an irrigation motor. In High School I changed a lot of irrigation pipes and the motors were sometimes in a shed like that.

     
  5. Bobby

    December 18, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Your environment is so differnt than mine. I sense the connection you have to yours.

    Merry Christmas buddy.

    Love,
    Bobby

     
  6. Sunny

    December 18, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    It really is different from my area too. I have your area in my heart πŸ™‚ The country related parts πŸ™‚

    I like the picture, and your list too πŸ™‚ I always tell myself I’m going to make lists and post them, but I always forget !!

    Merry Christmas! to you and your family, Anita πŸ™‚

     
  7. Swanpetal

    December 18, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    I should dig out my Texas photos… I’ve been through Lubbock. I like ready your lists as well.

    I hope all is well, it’s been busy on my end a bit. Have a great weekend!

     
  8. Anna Surface

    December 19, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    Wonderful photo in Ttv treatment and I really like country favorites list. I especially like: 7. Small towns with great big silos πŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
