RSS

Desert Vision

15 Dec

Since the baby was born, my awareness of self and horse has greatly improved. I have become more balanced both mentally and physically. My balance has become more natural and I do not think of it any longer. It is no longer a set of tasks when I ride. I simply ride.

During the summer, I started riding Carter bareback close to the house. I was rather nervous about it but the very last time I rode in this manner, I greatly enjoyed it and wanted to break into a trot. It had not been long since I gave birth so I had lost some of my confidence and was not quite ready to saddle up and head off too far. But I began to do so a little each weekend. Riding with my sister-in-law was tremendously helpful for having a riding buddy allowed me to feel more secure. I had not realized how lonely I have been all these years on Carter’s back riding by myself.

Carter’s always been a bit of a spooky horse and years early on I had played many games with him to overcome these things. Unfortunately, Arabians tend to have a bit of spookiness about them and I cannot control the birds, squirrels, and other creatures in the nearby forest much less the strange smells from afar. But I have become rather fearless of his sidestepping-get-ready-to-run-for-your-life behavior. He actually has never left me, but simply jumps and spins. It has become rather pleasant now as we relearn the trails, the obstacles, and the use of aids.

My body has become like jelly and my eyes have softened. I breath more correctly, visualizing my center. I feel more connected with my horse and it appears as though he trusts me more than ever.

We have more work to do. I look forward to the spring.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2009 in My horses, Nevada, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Desert Vision

  1. halfpass

    December 15, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    Gorgeous photos! And good for you overcoming fears! It’s no small thing to ride again after a long break….

     
  2. Bobby

    December 16, 2009 at 9:43 am

    This is wonderful to read. A connection such as you describe comes from being a master at your chosen endeavor.

    I have connections which are different yet are very much the same.

    Merry Christmas my friend.

    Love,
    Bobby

     
  3. mrssoup

    December 16, 2009 at 11:13 am

    What a wonderful read. I hope to read more about your journey connecting with Carter and yourself. That’s amazing and inspiring.

     
  4. Aafke

    December 16, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    I’m glad you’re getting back to riding. And also to hear you also have a spooky horse. I was hoping that the Tarq would grow out of it eventually, but I suppose I will have to learn to live with the Tarq and the forest trolls he sees everywhere.

    I also feel much better when in company, mostly because the Tarq is way more cool when in company, and for me there is the relaxing thought that there is somebody to ring for the ambulance…

     
  5. wildstorm

    December 16, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Aafke, that’s probably the #1 reason I prefer to have a riding buddy…911!

    Thanks Mrs. Soup.

    Hi Bobby! Merry Christmas to you.

    Halfpass, that very first time back in the saddle after a year off felt like…well the first time! But only for a short time.

     
  6. Doug

    December 16, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    I’ll take the scenery, preferably from a Jeep. I don’t trust horses and they sense that 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
