RSS

Don’t Wait

01 Dec

Today is December 1, 2009. January 1 is right around the corner and already resolutions are being declared. Never have I been fond of the new year and all the hoopla over the whole deal. Although it’s a good reason to throw a party and have a bit of fun with friends and family and renew relationships with some enemies, there are 364 other days to do this. It’s the least favorite of all the holidays.

Furthermore, I find it a huge hurdle people try to cross when setting goals. People set life changing expectations for themselves: Lose weight, save money, quit smoking, spend more time with family, get fit, get out of debt, get educated. There are more.

Why do people weight for January 1 to get started? They have failed year after year and they are back at it again. These are huge changes that require planning. So while the rest of the mainstream world is making the exact list as you, the clock ticks and it simply becomes casual conversation leading you to Curves, or LA Fitness where you sign your hard earned cash away and attend maybe one or two months at the gym and lose a couple of pounds only to return to your lifestyle that you really are unwilling to change.

If you are unwilling to commit now, you won’t commit January 1. Write a plan. Set long term goals. List objectives. Change your life. Do it NOW!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 1, 2009 in Black and White, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Don’t Wait

  1. Anna Surface

    December 1, 2009 at 10:38 am

    Very nice b&w railroad capture! Change has to be a committed life change (life long) and not a one time deal, I feel. ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  2. Pastor Larry

    December 1, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Kool Picture ๐Ÿ˜‰
    You are correct diet and exercise is an on going work in progress.

     
  3. stacy antonelle

    December 1, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    its so true…i am noot a fan of new years eve or day, makes me sort of melancholy, so i don’t make resolutions, i just enjoy my family,and thank God for each day!

     
  4. Doug

    December 1, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    I’ll get right on it, A ๐Ÿ™‚

    What do you suppose is the allure of train tracks? Is it the perfectly aligned rails, vanishing off in unison into the horizon? A wish to follow them, even if we have to walk?

    I have to stop myself from photographing them, or I’d have hundreds ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  5. davecandoit

    December 3, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    First up: I LOVE that photo. Excellent black & white.

    As for resolutions, never been into them. I can’t recall ever making one. I should back into working out, but I’m lazy. Can’t complain much about my eating habits; I eat better than anyone I know (although I do struggle with da junk food).

    Right now my biggest struggle is NOT buying a new camera and holding off until spring. Dang, I want a Nikon D90, but I’ve gotta be a good boy.

    Anyway, again, great photo. I love train tracks.

     
  6. trinaramirez

    December 3, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    nice photo. i feel like i’m standing on the tracks. i can smell the railroad. i can hear the train chug chug chugging in the far distance behind me.

    i agree with you about new years resolution. i think that january 1st is one of the only days of the year when most people think that it’s a fresh start. i don’t make resolutions, but i’m already trying to set a goal of weening off facebook. does that count?

     

Leave a Reply

 
