RSS

Vintage

17 Nov

While sorting through this box of history while the cold north wind kept me inside today, I discovered unopened treasures in a large manila envelope. The papers were aged and required very careful handling. The words were more precious for they were the letters written to my aunt M by the man she later married. Also amongst all these postmarked letters, was a variety of vintage postcards, announcements, and bookmarks.

The one hour I had set aside for this project took 3 for I must have read almost every letter written by B. Most of them were typed letters for he worked for a publishing company and spent much of his day at his typewriter. These such letters create a connection that this modern electronic communication can never become.

I’ve saved many handwritten letters from my grandparents. With this, I’ve been greatly inspired to carry on this lost art. I’ve vowed to write one handwritten letter each week.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 17, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Vintage

  1. wildwesty

    November 17, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    what a great discovery! I love that kind of stuff…

     
  2. Sunny

    November 18, 2009 at 8:18 am

    What treasures! Those hours you had were priceless. 🙂 I was going through my photo boxes, and I did the same thing….sat there for hours instead of 20 minutes,lol.

    It’s very heart-warming to find treasure slike you did. I had only pictures but did find some postcards from my first years in Florida.

    Your vintage is beautiful. I like your idea of writing a real hand-written letter once a week. I try to do that with my elders, as they don’t have computers. We talk alot on the phone, though.

    What a nice time to be spent while you were inside. 🙂

     
  3. Doug

    November 18, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    I love looking at vintage stuff. Although I prefer modern surroundings for living space, I like having old things on display. I kind of like photographing old stuff, too 🙂

     
  4. Anna Surface

    November 19, 2009 at 10:11 am

    Beautiful vintage pictures and a wonderful treasure. I used to have such nice handwriting and now it is a scrawl. I do believe there is still an art to handwriting in penning journals and letters.

     

Leave a Reply

 
