RSS

Morning Has Broken

13 Nov

RoseDew1

Yesterday, my seven month old decided to get into something he is not to have. While I am getting the house arranged to make a safe living environment for him, there will always be items he will focus on that are not appropriate for a person his size. Let’s just say he reacted tearfully when I firmly said “no” and gave him the look of an angry mother. On November 12 I intercepted his plans to take over the world.

We are up each morning at about 530 a.m. This is my favorite time of day, particularly watching the sun come up. As I type this, there is a swoosh of orange and purple on the eastern horizon. From time to time, a streak of light can be seen through the silouetted trees down the road. Before long there will be a line of yellow school buses at the stop sign, each one headed on a well mapped destination carrying the future.

The cat wants out. She likes to explore the porch and flowerbeds as if to inspect the remains of the night. In a moment she will be at the door desperately pawing at the glass. Her meow translated means, “Feed me now”. I open a can of Fancy Feast, scoop about 2 tablespoons into her dish and place it on the kitchen floor.

The canvas becomes more vivid in color and I can see that today will be partly cloudy. All remains quiet and the coffee is finished brewing. One cup poured and placed on my bathroom countertop, I get ready for the day.

For there is beauty in this world. One being this little child. The other is just outside your window.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 13, 2009 in Photography

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Morning Has Broken

  1. burstmode

    November 13, 2009 at 8:52 am

    Yup, ya done good with this one.

    Your stern mother look is only the first of many. I mean, really many.

     
  2. wildstorm

    November 13, 2009 at 9:27 am

    The word “No” is used more than ever before, Burst. Fortunately he does not throw tantrums or fusses about nothing. Yet. Maybe it won’t happen. Maybe.

     
  3. Anna Surface

    November 13, 2009 at 9:41 am

    What a lovely rose! What type of rose is it? My red roses are blooming for some reason. I enjoyed your post with the sharing about your growing little one and the ‘morning has broken.’ All lovely… photo and prose. 🙂

     
  4. mrssoup

    November 13, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    What a horrible mother you are! Not letting him take over the world. So disappointed. 😉

     
  5. wildstorm

    November 13, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    So is he!!

     
  6. swanpetal

    November 14, 2009 at 6:47 am

    Just catching up for the past week. I really enjoyed your Arizona photos… my Grandparents used to live in AZ… Have a great weekend.

     
  7. janinecollettephotography

    November 14, 2009 at 9:11 am

    Awww very nice! Beautiful morning dew. I wish my roses were blooming!

     
  8. Wizardress

    November 15, 2009 at 5:02 am

    You know, I think this is one of my favorite things that I’ve ever read written by you. It brings tears to my eyes. Beautiful and the rose is gorgeous.

     

Leave a Reply

 
