RSS

Pay Attention To Detail

12 Nov

LizardRock

Fortunately, I had this picture appropriate to my post. I found it in a folder of unprocess RAW files from the Arizona trip last year.

In a day of a very busy life, one can overlook those little things that have so much meaning if they could only share in the sunshine. This week I have rearranged my house, reorganized my linen closet, unpacked and repacked some boxes in the garage, and replaced a few household items. I have also gotten rid of items that are not necessary. If there is no need for it, it’s gone.

Now that J is with us, I have readjusted hand-me-downs a bit. Things I would have never considered saving are now being kept for him. We are not pack rats though. But in this reorganization of my home, I have found items I have lived without for so long yet made me smile as I pulled them out of the box and unwrapped gently from the packing material. Things like my calligraphy binders, old works of art, fountain pens, charcoal pencils, sketch pads, ink wells, paint brushes, and more. I unpacked my clarinet. I have not played it since it was repadded back in 97. It looks like its still in good condition. I found some old letters from friends in the Army, a couple of handwritten notes folded up from highschool that were passed to and from friends. The good ones got confiscated though by the teacher.

On one sheet of paper that I almost threw away was a scribbled recipe of dish my gramma used to make. If I had not paid attention, it would be making its way down the road in that stinky garbage truck that chugs down the road. I also found a missing gold earring–a black hills gold piece. They both are hanging from my ears now. Careful sorting of things both in a tangible collection but also within one’s heart.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2009 in Arizona, Photography

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Pay Attention To Detail

  1. davecandoit

    November 12, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    What a cool capture. Nice. The lizard is easy to miss.

     
  2. wildstorm

    November 13, 2009 at 9:29 am

    I almost missed the lizard when looking through the thumbnails.

     
  3. Wizardress

    November 15, 2009 at 5:03 am

    Love this too and what was the recipe for? I love treasures like that.

     

Leave a Reply

 
