RSS

Connections

04 Nov

butterflyBOtanicalGarden

This photo was taken with my Nikon D50 in April 2008 while in Phoenix Arizona.

Many different blogs are read on this PC: Political blogs, artsy blogs, cake blogs, memoirs, poems, and photography blogs. So many have helped me with my own creative growth and as I look back over the past two years of this wildstorm blog, I have noticed a gradual shift in how and what I write. The style of photography remains pretty much the same.

What makes blogging so enjoyable is the connections made through reading other online journals. Informative, inspirational, entertaining, educational. It’s getting to know the writer through what they publish that intrigues me so. I’ve followed and been followed by many over the past ten years. Some I have known over the course of that time while others have only recently become part of my daily blog reads. Unfortunately there are many who kept journals for a period of time that became blog friends and are now gone.

People come and go in online communities. People leave for a variety of reasons. But in a community a blogger needs to feel valued. They need to know that they are wanted as a member and they need to know that they have been noticed by other members. I no longer formally belong to a blog community but this blog on WordPress offers connections to others who have been quite faithful at reading me for the past 2 years. And thank you.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2009 in Flowers, Photography

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Connections

  1. wildwesty

    November 4, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    this is one of my favorite pictures. Did you know that the bottle brush is one of my all time favorite plants? I even had one here in Germany, but it unfortunately died this summer *snif*

    I keep missing your updated entries…. sorry. It’s hard keeping up on 3 different sites (4 if you count facebook).

     
  2. swanpetal

    November 5, 2009 at 1:03 am

    I enjoy reading your blog and seeing your photos. I don’t formally belong to any communities either but try to keep up with others at a few. I also think there should be general respect for all bloggers in communities and some lack that.

    Anyway, thanks for sharing with us and looking forward to more.

     
  3. Anna Surface

    November 5, 2009 at 10:23 am

    And I have thoroughly enjoyed all you have shared with photos and prose, Wildstorm. I look forward to much more. 🙂

     
  4. wildstorm

    November 5, 2009 at 10:44 am

    Hi Westy. I am so glad you still read my blog. It’s always a pleasure to keep up with you as well.

    Thanks SP.

    Anna, I plan on more. Thank you!

     
  5. Preston Surface

    November 5, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Bloggers to me are like performers/artists be it the form of the written word, shared poem, or image or combination of them all. To perform we need an audience. In essence the blogger becomes the audience of other bloggers. Then once the performer/audience thing happens, then a kinship of sorts starts to form. Its actually a pretty wonderful thing.

     
  6. wildstorm

    November 5, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    It is Preston. You said it far better than I could have. It is wonderful.

     
  7. Terri

    November 5, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    love all your photos too!! .. :). Thanks!!

     
  8. Monte Stevens

    November 7, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    And, thank you for noticing me, whatever path led you to my blog. And, thanks for finding me so I could find you. I have only skimmed your blog but I’ve enjoyed your images as well as your writing. I will be back for further posts, so don’t stop.

     
  9. rvewong

    November 12, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    Nice shot, it’s got a few elements I can relate to, just as in the online community.

     

Leave a Reply

 
