RSS

Friday

30 Oct

GuadalupeRestaurant

Last night I made a pot of potato leek soup. And while that was in the works, I realized I did not have any crackers or good bread to accompany it. I threw some flower in the bread machine with all the associated ingredients and had homemade bread some hours later. In fact, it was such a hit with my husband, I’ve got another loaf being made now.

During the time I worked in the Dallas metroplex, I shopped at the Central Market. I just love their bakery. My friend, M, brought me some loaves of bread a month ago when she came up for a visit and the bread was so yummy. Well, if I cannot go to Dallas, I’ll make the bread myself. Today’s loaf: jalapeno cheddar.

The photo above was taken in the town of Gladwater, Texas on Labor Day weekend.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 30, 2009 in Photography, Texas

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Friday

  1. bblissful

    October 30, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    Mmmmm. One of my favourite things to bake!

     
  2. Doug

    October 31, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    I don’t bake but I can nuke a frozen lasagna 🙂

    I like painted signs. For a brief time we had a restaurant/bar with a Spanish mural on the outside wall. They finally covered it up about a month ago, but I have photos of it somewhere 🙂

     
  3. Wizardress

    November 1, 2009 at 9:25 am

    That is something I’d love to make- bread. It’s. Probably good that I don’t though because I would be whipping up jalapeño cheddar bread far too much. Delish!!!! I’d love your soup recipe if you’d like to share.

    Have a great day. Hugggs

     
  4. wildstorm

    November 1, 2009 at 9:40 am

    I will share in my next post!

     
  5. Beyond Bluestockings

    November 1, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    Potato and leek soup is delightful!

    We have discovered, in much the same way as you have (lack of anything more ready to hand), that the breadmaker is underutilized! It’s something I tend to go through phases with, but in soup weather, I certainly use it more deliberately.

     

Leave a Reply

 
