RSS

Another Reflection

21 Oct

RenyEyeReflection

Each one of us has been greatly affected to some degree by others and/or experiences throughout our lifetime. Situations differ in our lives as do changes as we grow older but I would like to think that there is one or two people who have made an imprint on our lives that will last as long as we do.

For most everyone, our parents have made the most impression upon us whether it be positive or negative. And there are others: school teachers, club leaders, community representatives. The list goes on. I remember many who who I hold dear to my heart who have given me a thread of life’s larger fabric today. And that fabric comes in many textures and colors as do those types of influence.

My education was greatly influenced by my family particularly my Grampa J. All of my family encouraged and expected a highs school diploma and a college degree, but I remember those drives in the white pickup truck on the hot Arizona desert sipping an ice cold Coke from Stuckey’s with my Grampa while he told me of the importance of a college degree. I did just that.

My love for cooking was influenced by none other than my mother and equally by my Aunt A. But how I cook was influenced by so many others. The women in my family can cook and cook well. They can their food, garden, freeze, and do magic on the stove and each of us has our own special skill. Our family reunions should be on Food Network.

As a kid, I loved to draw. I still do but I have not been disciplined enough to even sketch a picture of the toilet. Third grade, it was Mrs. Rawles who encouraged my drawing in her class. I always got special assignments. On large sheets of paper I would sketch most always something with a horse, but much of my sketches were landscapes with the use of colored pencils and crayons, sometimes charcoal. I don’t have those drawings from that grade, but I do remember some of the that I did. She always told me I was going to be an artist some day.

I believe that I have developed my own styles, skill sets, and preferences though and hope to pass these onto my boy, but still carry those precious influences on. The best part is that these I have mentioned believed in me.

Who has influenced you?
________________________

The photo is the one I mentioned in my previous post and was submitted on Journalspace in that photo group. Renegade is the horse and he’s like a big puppy dog. He really is so spoiled and is so sweet.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2009 in My horses, Photography

 

8 responses to “Another Reflection

  1. wes

    October 21, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    Anita,

    I can only paint a visual that I recall from my past. You capture the present and sometimes the past for all of us to be able to see what was and is.

     
  2. bblissful

    October 22, 2009 at 1:42 am

    As I was walking home from work tonight, I found myself thinking about friends and food. And I realized that I associate certain foods — or food combinations — with specific friends, because they introduced me to these food experiences for the first time. It was fun to follow this thread, and these associations, all the way back to childhood! Despite working in a restaurant, I was hungry by the time I got home! 🙂

     
  3. angelcel

    October 22, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    Simplest thing for me to say is that I envy you your close and loving family. I wish that I had been similarly blessed but it wasn’t to be.

    I love this photo by the way. 🙂

     
  4. Anna Surface

    October 22, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    Great photo and I wonder how you did that! Who influenced me? My dad for his practical sense and love of life.

     
  5. swanpetal

    October 22, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    This is a wonderful reflection photo, and unique as well! What a thought provoking entry… so many people… but the one person that stands out is my grandmother.

     
  6. Doug

    October 22, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    My sisters have varying degrees of talent in drawing, but aside from an ability to hold a tune, I never realized I had any talents whatsoever. I have no one to blame for my photographinc bent 🙂

     
  7. Pete Witte

    October 26, 2009 at 10:05 am

    Absolutely love the blog; this photo is awesome, as are many others on your pages.

     
  8. Rusty

    October 26, 2009 at 11:52 am

    That’s a totally kick ass shot right there! Very well done!

     

Leave a Reply

 
