RSS

Morning Sounds

20 Oct

DreamyPasture

Since my baby was born, my mornings have changed. Any parent can agree. Wake-up call is the baby often crying or cooing for whatever reason. More often than not it’s feeding time along with a diaper change. Mornings have always been my favorite time of the day and there is nothing more wonderful than lying snug in bed early awake before anyone else quietly listening to sounds from outside.

When I was a young child, I remember these mornings vividly. We lived in a small house in the country and not far down the road was the rail. Almost every morning the sound of the train could be heard. Along the tracks ran the Lovington highway and there would be the noise of big trucks passing by at times. Every once in a while I could hear the roar of one passing along down our road. It was the train I remember most and to this day I still enjoy hearing in the morning.

Living in the city there is constant noise: factories, never-ending street and freeway traffic, sirens, the frequent helicopter flying above, barking dogs, and the list goes on. Some would consider the rooster crowing each morning as unwanted noise. I suppose it all depends on what you are accustomed to. For years I tuned much of this unpleasant city noise out.

For the past five years, I have lived in a small rural town in Texas. A train passes through each morning. There is a highway a mile up the road. The high school is nearby. Some nights, a storm builds and rain can be heard outside in the morning and on occasion, often around 5 a.m. thunder. Those sounds I remember so young can be heard once again. Only this time, the marching band wakes me up!

What wakes you up in the morning? What are your favorite morning sounds?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 20, 2009 in Black and White, Photography

 

5 responses to “Morning Sounds

  1. angelcel

    October 20, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Like you, I love the morning but I get up *so* early that I’m often up even before the birds. I love the sheer silence at that time of day, gradually giving way to bird song and maybe the gentle ticking of the radiators as they expand with the heat that is passing trough them.

     
  2. swanpetal

    October 20, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    Well today it was the lawn guys with their leaf blowers. 😛 I rather wake up to the sound of birds on my balcony or rain falling. But I live in an apartment, in a busy city so it’s more likely city and people sounds.

    Back home it was quieter city… very early in the morning I could hear roosters crow. The train and so forth.

     
  3. Doug

    October 20, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Birds occasionally start early here. The odd chirp is ok, it’s when they chatter non stop that annoys me. All the usual city sounds are here, but traffic is the main sound, my street being something of a shortcut to the downtown. It’s noisier in the winter, actually, with plows and removal crews doing their work any time of the day or night.

     
  4. davecandoit

    October 24, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    I really like this shot. Reminds me of something found in the bottom of an old shoebox under the bed.

     
  5. Z

    October 26, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    poignant and mesmerizing. i’ll shut up for now.

     

Leave a Reply

 
