RSS

Self Reflection

18 Oct

CarShow4

About a year ago there was a photography group on Journalspace that introduced every few weeks a new subject. One of those was reflections. That was my favorite and I posted a photograph of the reflection of myself in my horse’s eye. The topic had inspired me at that time and I had written a short entry for that photograph but never published it.

When looking at the photograph, I wondered what my horse thought of me, how did he perceive me. In the equine mind, I am a predator; a trustworthy one, but a predator just the same. I serve one purpose to that animal: to feed and water him, to scratch his back and to catch him to make him work.

In self reflection I had given thought to this past year and wondered what others thought of me; of what I thought of me. ‘
* What have I accomplished this year?
* Did I meet my goals?
* What are my regrets?
* What were my biggest disappointments
* What were my limits and plans to overcome them?
* Have I contacted long lost friends?
* What have I done to maintain and strengthen friendships?
* What is stopping me?

The photo in this post was taken yesterday at our annual car show at the W Peanut Festival. I took many shots but when I pulled this one up, I liked the reflection of the next car.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 18, 2009 in Photography

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Self Reflection

  1. riversongs

    October 18, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    Excellent post! I love the picture, and your words…well…you’ve certainly given my a lot to think about. I’m curious to find out what my answers to those questions will be.

     
  2. Adila

    October 19, 2009 at 4:38 am

    I absolutely want to see the picture of you in your horse eye. That sounds awesome!

     
  3. burstmode

    October 19, 2009 at 8:06 am

    I don’t remember this photo but I like it.

     
  4. wildstorm

    October 19, 2009 at 8:35 am

    This photo is new Burst. I will post the horse’s eye later.

     
  5. wes

    October 19, 2009 at 10:28 am

    great pic

     
  6. davecandoit

    October 19, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Love it! I saw one thing when I first looked at it and another on second take. Great work. Your message is also provocative. Tough questions that need to be asked, but I can’t say my own personal answers are very positive. It’s not been a great year.

     
  7. Doug

    October 19, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    I remember that eye photo. I do too much reflecting on the past so I prefer to let shiny objects do the reflecting, instead 🙂

     
  8. Anna Surface

    October 20, 2009 at 8:28 am

    A reflective post for sure with an eye-catching photo. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
