RSS

Las Vegas, Nevada

17 Oct

Bellagio

Many of my entries on this blog are of not so common places and often show up at the top of the list if you google the title which is often the name of a town or place. The above title is listed a quadzillion times on google, so I don’t expect much traffic on this particular post. That’s just fine. You are here and that is what matters.

It doesn’t take a lot of people in my life to make me feel fulfilled. In fact, I have always been so independent and able to do things alone. Much of that is drawn from my career that had me on the road much of the time and I had to spend many hours alone in a restaurant writing up a report, preparing for the next meeting, traveling to California, driving through rural Oklahoma, and sitting in Starbucks in Dallas on a conference call.

Now that there is a new person in my life, a much more dependent one, I am home all the time. Due to extensive travel over the past five years, I never made close friends in my town. I do miss getting together with a girlfriend for lunch, or having someone over to talk about her boys or their plans for vacation. My sister-in-law and I spend a lot more time together now with the horses and that makes me very happy. I look forward to riding more than ever now because I have someone to share that with. She is a good rider and alot of fun to be with. My mother-in-law and I are close and it is always a pleasure getting together with her and probably more fun for her now that she can play with her baby grandson.

Friendships are important and more so now than ever before. I write more letters (emails) and have scribbled some handwritten notes and put in the mail. Those are treasured. In fact, I am writing a few letters this weekend by hand that involve a scetch.

Well, that’s all for now. Today is the Whitesboro Peanut Festival. It’s a gorgeous day and I hope to bump into some friends and make new ones.

This photo was shot in 2002 in Las Vegas where I met my husband before we got married. It was our first date. I used a small Kodak EasyShare.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 17, 2009 in Nevada, Photography

 

One response to “Las Vegas, Nevada

  1. Doug

    October 17, 2009 at 11:32 am

    The fountain makes for a very interesting effect on what is otherwise just another hotel. I like the perspective.

    I have never been much for travelling because I tend to focus on the travel and not the destination. Once I get where I was headed, I fail to relax, thinking instead of the trip back 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
