RSS

Football Dreams

16 Oct

JamesSplit2

A block from my home the football stadium awaits tonight’s game. I almost wrote “the football stadium breathes”. Doesn’t it? The center of most homes in this little town is high school football. The heart of most small towns is the high school football field. Last night was JV football and the stands were not full by any means, but they were there; parents and friends of those young boys aspiring of the varsity league playoffs. That one night the ball soars gloriously across the field while the crowd in the stands stand cheering as the kid extends his arms just as the ball reaches him and his eyes focused on this very moment of triumph he tucks the ball away under his arms sealing it in and running fiercely into the open pockets dodging opponents. His dexterity, speed, determination lands him across the line. The crowd roars and chants and celebrates in their spirit raising tradition. His teammates feel victorious. He feels proud simply because his dad came to watch him play tonight.

The band practiced this morning. The percussion cadance is what woke me up. I slept in and remember my husband kissing my forehead before he left. The baby was snuggled up against me under the covers. What music they were playing I do not recall, but I listened for a while. While I watched my baby sleep, I imagined…

This photo was taken yesterday and was totally underexposed. I almost deleted it off my Nikon. But I loaded it onto my computer to see what I could do and with a few adjustments in histogram, we have this. Be careful what you toss away.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 16, 2009 in baby, Black and White, Photography

 

7 responses to “Football Dreams

  1. Maggie Mae

    October 16, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Great post! You have a way of telling a story that I truly wish I had.
    I can see the stadium in my mind’s eye, and feel the pride of the players. Nothing on earth makes you feel better than making your parents proud.
    I would have to say this is not meaninglessness or nonsense, it is the true essence of what is important in life. Every time I have visited your blog I have left with a smile. Thank you!
    P. S. That’s a handsome young man you have there.

     
  2. wildwesty

    October 16, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    I’m glad you didn’t delete that photo but shared it with us instead.

    I never delete ANY photos no matter how bad they are. lol

    Since you’ve stopped linking your entries to KCL, I sometimes miss them…. I don’t stop in WordPress often…..

     
  3. wildstorm

    October 16, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    MM, I appreciate your comment. That means so much to me.

    Westy, I’ve thought about returning to KCL, but there is a problem with the team that I do link to this blog. I don’t feel comfortable there anymore. I am glad you still read me here though. Thank you =)

     
  4. Doug

    October 17, 2009 at 11:37 am

    It is a different readership here than at KCL, so I usually alter the titles or content slightly.

    I am glad you salvaged the shot, his expresssion is worth the reworking. I delete a lot of photos, but mainly badly blurred (unless it was on purpose) and ones that are totally blown out.

     
  5. angelcel

    October 19, 2009 at 12:04 am

    This is so, so sweet.

     
  6. davecandoit

    October 19, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    Man alive, what a cute baby photo. Made me laugh. Nice work.

     
  7. bblissful

    October 22, 2009 at 1:33 am

    Utterly riveting eyes. You’ve captured a beautiful memory!

     

Leave a Reply

 
