RSS

Swallowtail

15 Oct

Blackbtfly3

The afternoon was breezy and warm. A cold front was moving in and my MIL handed the camera to me while pointing to the Lantana across the yard where this black butterfly was dipping into the clusters of pink and orange flowers. I stood along the row of plants and waited. Watched its constant movement. Maybe it is a she. I’ve always thought of butterflies as being female and I don’t really know why. Perhaps it is their colors, their delicateness, attraction to beautiful blooms. Or maybe its because I have a half dozen butterfly jewelry items in my case. This butterfly appears to be a Pipevine Swallowtail.

The camera was one I had not used in a long time. This little silver digital Kodak was a gift to my in-laws some years ago and it has been well used, and well cared for. The butterfly never sat still enough at any point in time to capture a sharp image, especially due to the heavy breeze. About ten shots were taken. This one is interesting since most all butterfly shots are stills.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2009 in bugs, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Swallowtail

  1. Ben

    October 15, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    Very cool shot!

     
  2. blogturtle

    October 15, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    i also like butterflies. too bad it was windy, but this shot is beautiful anyway.

     
  3. burstmode

    October 16, 2009 at 7:56 am

    This is EXCELLENT. Did you give this one a shot in b&w? Just curious but either way, I love it.

     
  4. wildstorm

    October 16, 2009 at 8:52 am

    Thanks. The action, the movement of the butterfly really appealed to me in this shot.

     
  5. Jonny Keen

    October 22, 2009 at 11:29 am

    a great baby picture-my wife loved it! she wants grandchildren-peace

     

Leave a Reply

 
