RSS

Cemetery — Infrared

11 Oct

IRTreeHist

Thankfully I do not throw everything away, but do not consider myself a pack rat. In fact, I rid myself of items I do not use or have little interest in rather quickly. This applies in addition to what is on my hard drive, specifically jpg, tif, and raw files. In a lonely little file folder called “IR”, there remain some original unprocessed IR shots I took a few years ago around town. I purchased my black lens at Arlington Camera without asking questions. I could not tell your right now the specifics of it because it is in my camera bag in the other room. That information will come later.

The unprocessed photos are heavily red tented in color. Originally, when I processed them using Paint Shop Pro, I changed them to monochrome in Channel Mixer. I played around with contrast/light/dark and that was it. Tonight, I played with red, green, and blue in the histogram adjustment.

I cannot tell you what the specifics are with this photograph because I simply played around familiarizing self with what each option did. I must learn more about this histogram in addition to the art of capturing an image on my camera with the black filter.

Once the sun comes out and there is opportunity to shoot outdoors again, I will document the steps I took using my Nikon and writing a bit more about invisible light. Certainly I am not expert but am happy to share the process as I learn on this blog.

The tree in the above photograph was shot at a local cemetery in town in late afternoon a few summer’s ago. I used a tripod which is an absolute necessity when using a black filter. Exposure time was somewhere around a second. I took several photos of the scene using different f-stops. What is key, though is ISO, which should be set to about 100 to avoid all the noise on long exposures. I have so much to learn.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 11, 2009 in infrared, Photography

 

6 responses to “Cemetery — Infrared

  1. Omar Upegui R.

    October 12, 2009 at 7:24 am

    Hi There:

    I’ve been enjoying your photographs and writings for about an hour and loved every second. You have a nice touch with words and pictures. Thank you for giving us a high quality blog to read.

    The picture of the wagon outside a nearby ranch is wonderful.

    Regards,

    Omar.-

     
  2. Aafke

    October 12, 2009 at 8:54 am

    I’m always fascinated by infrared photographs, but always thought it too fussy to try myself.

    Beautiful image

     
  3. wildstorm

    October 12, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Thank you Omar.

    Aafke, it takes a few extra steps to set up for a shot–focusing, exposure time, especially since you cannot see a darn thing through the filter.

     
  4. Doug

    October 12, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    I use ISO 200 a lot, 100 and stopped down (F/8-12) quite a bit if I have lots of light. I don’t carry my tripod as a rule, so sometimes I have to sit my camera down and use the timer 🙂 I bought a monopod but so far I am reluctant to carry it, either.

    I take a lot of long exposure, but no infrared yet.

     
  5. wildstorm

    October 12, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    Doug, I didn’t think you used a tripod much. I have a monopod too and just cannot get in the habit of using it–reluctance too I suppose. I am also not disciplined to check my ISO settings.

     
  6. Anna Surface

    October 14, 2009 at 9:18 am

    I love infrared photography. There is something about it, another view of what we think we see. I plan to have one of my cameras changed into an infrared camera. It is on my wish list for 2010. Photography in its many ways is so much fun to experiment with and learn.

     

Leave a Reply

 
