RSS

A Holga Shot

09 Oct

1858900-R1-E010

Coming up with interesting titles has always been a challenge.

I’ve got a roll of 120 film at the camera shop now getting developed. One of these days I’ll get my own dark room supplies and do this myself since I have complete darkness in my laundry room and plenty of space to set it up.

My trips to Dallas are few these days and that means I’m going to have to order by mail any 120 film needed for the Brownie and for the Holgas. But I do have one roll that I’m going to load into the Brownie today and see what that little camera does.

This photo was shot at Olympic National Park at Hurricane Ridge. The Holga was new to me and I had not quite grasped the understanding of the advancing of the film correctly. But look what happens when you mess up. I actually enjoy the surprises of these kinds of things.

I miss shooting film cameras.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on October 9, 2009 in Black and White, Holga, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

13 responses to “A Holga Shot

  1. burstmode

    October 9, 2009 at 9:19 am

    Broken Fate?

     
  2. Sunny

    October 9, 2009 at 9:23 am

    Ohhh, so a “Holga” is a camera!?

    For people pictures, I think ( just my own opinion) the film type cameras are best for that.

    For scenery landscapes, mother-nature photos, I like my digital cameras.

    I think I’ll go buy some film this weekend. Thanks for the idea. 🙂

    Hope you have a nice weekend too, Anita!

     
  3. Sunny

    October 9, 2009 at 9:24 am

    And about your photo you have posted here… it’s beautiful in a foggy kind of way…or misty.

     
  4. Jonathan

    October 9, 2009 at 10:44 am

    I love the look that can be achieved with Holga. How awesome that you still shoot film!

     
  5. wildwesty

    October 9, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    I think I still have a roll of film in an old camera…. probably dead by now.

    Yep, thinkinf of “clever” titles is at times a challenge lol

     
  6. Anna Surface

    October 9, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    How very challenging, I think, to shoot with a Holga and develop one’s own shots in a darkroom! I can see how that would be fun also. Neat shot, though, with the mistiness and does show what a Holga can do. I’ve been tempted to pick up film again as I still have my 35mm film camera; yet I know I would be very picky about the development of the film. Perhaps I may try at a later time.

     
  7. wildstorm

    October 9, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    Westy…can I challenge you to shoot with that old camera and film and see what happens? There is a group over at flickr that does that kind of thing. What fun!

    I’ve got my 35mm SLR and found some film recently. I’m going to shoot with it next week.

     
  8. iheartfilm

    October 9, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    This is very cool, wild. I really like the depth. 🙂

     
  9. lynnwiles

    October 9, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    Nice shot, almost makes me want to take my Holga out for a spin again, but I don’t think I have the patience to wait anymore for the roll to finish and the developing. Digital is so full of instant gratification.

     
  10. Doug

    October 9, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    I know I have an old Brownie around somewhere, and for sure I can get my hands on a 35mm point and shoot, but I’m not sure it would be worth it…

    Holgas are all about uncertainty and surprise, are they not? 🙂

     
  11. wildstorm

    October 10, 2009 at 7:34 am

    Yes, it’s all about uncertainty and surprise with a Holga.

     
  12. Jen

    October 10, 2009 at 10:15 am

    All of this film and Holga talk makes me happy! This is a cool shot – mistakes like this are always great surprises. I like Burst’s title too.

     
  13. angelcel

    October 10, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    I love the idea of trying out one of these but I’m nervous about processing costs. The last time I had film processed it was second mortgage time to pay for it. How marvellous to be able to develop your own, but that’s whole new territory for me.
    Despite the ‘error’ I like this shot (it actually looks like some nifty post processing to a newbie like me)!

     

Leave a Reply

 
