RSS

Balloon Time

08 Oct

AnotherInside

It’s that time of year when Albuquerque New Mexico hosts their annual Balloon Fiesta. I took this photo several years ago when I was working in Rio Rancho. In fact, I scheduled my work there so I could have this opportunity to see it and not have to fight finding a hotel. My work allowed me to stay in an apartment where I worked. This was also the case for the US Arabian Horse Nationals the year before. Finding a room in Albuquerque during balloon week is near impossible and it’s best to schedule a year in advance. But never mind all that.

I love this part of the world. For several years I had explored the area looking for work and a place to live. My mom had spent time in Albuquerque at the cancer center in 1979 and I had at that time become drawn to the Sandias. She had also taken us on an outing to charming historical Old Town. Of course, back then, it was just a place where there were cool looking pots and jewelry and and interesting things to eat. It’s far more than that.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2009 in New Mexico, Photography

 

8 responses to “Balloon Time

  1. Pastor Larry

    October 8, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    Awesome shot from in side the balloon 🙂

     
  2. Doug

    October 8, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    This is nice. I like the mix of color and the people shadows. This would make a great print.

     
  3. wildstorm

    October 8, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    Inside balloon shots are really cool and it’s a lot of fun to stand by and watch them inflate them. It’s not a one person job!

     
  4. Ben

    October 8, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    I’ve spent a great deal of time in Albequerque. Not a big town, not a small town, really, somewhere in between. It’s interesting there in the winter.
    Very nice pic.

     
  5. burstmode

    October 9, 2009 at 8:44 am

    I like this view. I have seen lots of balloon shots lately but this one is different.

     
  6. Sunny

    October 9, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Pretty colors, nice and rich… great shot of the inside view.

     
  7. wildwesty

    October 10, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    I can’t believe I almost missed this entry!

    As you know (I think) I’m a balloon pilot myself… I really should drag out some of my fav photos and post them!

    I also want to visit Albequerque some day.

     
  8. joan

    October 10, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    Cool! I’d like to do a balloon ride someday.

     

Leave a Reply

 
