RSS

McKinney, Texas

27 Sep

CottonMillMcK

Last week was full of activity. To begin with it was homecoming week. There was of course the game and all the activities associated with queens, football, votes, floats, and parades. My baby went to the parade. Our sitter took him that afternoon and he seemed to enjoy himself at such an event. We took him to the team’s very first season home game and he sat all the way through halftime in my lap without any issue.

On my way to work earlier in the week, I came across this structure in the photo while driving through McKinney, Texas on my way to Allen. I turned around and drove into the parking lot to get a better glimpse of this beauty. I knew I must return, go inside and inquire about taking photos on the property. Later, I googled “Cotton Gin McKinney TX” and discovered that in order to photograph the inside, one must reserve a slot on the calendar which costs a few bucks. Apparently this beautiful historical building is used for all sorts of activities including photo shoots. One day.

McKinney TX has never been a city I spent much time in. Quite the opposite. I have spent as little as time as possible simply because the drive on the 75 is so challenging to and from Dallas. But once off the main drag and to the east side of town, it becomes much more interesting.

Aside from bad traffic at rush hour on the 75, El Dorado Parkway, and the forever construction of the 121/75 interchange, McKinney is known as a one of the best places to live and raise a family. I personally am very partial to small town living, but there is quite a bit that this city has to offer.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2009 in Photography, Texas

 

7 responses to “McKinney, Texas

  1. burstmode

    September 27, 2009 at 11:39 am

    The sky makes this photo…I love it.

     
  2. lynnwiles

    September 27, 2009 at 11:55 am

    It is a beauty of bricks. Guess people are starting to realize the photographic potential of these dilapidated structures and turning a profit.

     
  3. Doug

    September 27, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    It is a very photogenic building. Most older buildings here are reused or in a really bad state inside.

    Homecoming was here, too. I haven’t heard yet how many arrests were made last night due to illegal partying ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  4. Anna Surface

    September 28, 2009 at 8:53 am

    All that brick and the windows. Great perspective and shot. I like how you can see in the windows of the other windows. ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  5. davecandoit

    October 4, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    I really like this one. Lots of roughness and age to it. I might have cropped the bottom a bit, but it’s all subjective, right? Nice work.

     
  6. Liv

    October 25, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    Oh i like it! I love those old buildings with tons of glass panes…. Makes me want to take pictures ๐Ÿ˜‰

     
  7. Samuel Haun

    December 18, 2010 at 3:07 am

    I love that building! I have some photos from inside it from when I scouted the building for a music video shoot and from parts of the production. Darla is the lady who runs the place and is a delight to talk to ๐Ÿ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
