RSS

Weston, Texas

22 Sep

WestonPO

WestonPO2

Considered the oldest town in Collin County, Weston has about 680-something residents and is located north of the Dallas metroplex. I discovered it one afternoon on my way home from work after deciding, “I think I’ll see where that road will take me” You drive far enough westbound, and you are bound to run into the 289.

There’s plenty more there. I will return with more photos. For now, this is the old post office. Weston had its first postmaster in 1854 and was one of the first of five cities in Texas to have rural free delivery beginning March 15, 1900. (http://www.westontexas.com).

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 22, 2009 in Photography, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Weston, Texas

  1. sue

    September 23, 2009 at 5:44 am

    thats so cute..keep posting the photos.

     
  2. lynnwiles

    September 23, 2009 at 7:03 am

    Nice little post office, it doesn’t look very ‘governmental’ as they do now.

     
  3. loupylou

    September 23, 2009 at 10:24 am

    very nice…you too! 🙂

     
  4. Doug

    September 23, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Hi. Thought I’d pop over and see what’s up down in Texas 🙂

     
  5. wildstorm

    September 23, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Visit anytime Doug! I’m working on my book.

     
  6. bO2

    September 24, 2009 at 1:31 am

    Very cool blog. Nice to know you, Amdana. I really love your pictures, so natural, so amazing…

     
  7. dhaami

    September 24, 2009 at 2:29 am

    Hi. Thank you for your comment. Love your photographs! The post office is very quaint.

     
  8. lacey russell

    October 26, 2014 at 8:13 am

    Lived in weston all my life and I love it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
