RSS

Mt. Scott, Oklahoma

27 Aug

MtScott800

The wind was blowing so hard at the top. I had set up my tripod for this image but had to hold it steady due to the strong gusts. The air was warm at late day for it had been about 100 most of the time at Wichita Mountain Wildlife Refuge. We were headed out of the region and this place, Mt. Scott, was the perfect place to close our day.

Although there are no hiking trails, there is some good rock climbing. The summit of Mt. Scott is just under 2500′ above sea level. The road that gets you to the top loops around about twice. This beautiful scene is just south, south east of the mountain looking toward Lawton, Oklahoma.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2009 in Oklahoma, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Mt. Scott, Oklahoma

  1. burstmode

    August 27, 2009 at 7:55 am

    Until now, I had no idea Oklahoma had a mountain. Its a beautiful photo.

     
  2. beadywitch

    August 28, 2009 at 5:48 am

    Totally awesome view……..

     
  3. siranneal

    August 28, 2009 at 9:35 am

    FANTASTIC! What a shot!

     
  4. wildstorm

    August 28, 2009 at 11:21 am

    This I believe, Burst, is the 3rd highest in OK. Eastern OK is very nice as well.

    Thanks for stopping by BW.

    And I appreciate your kind words, M.

     
  5. Joan

    August 29, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    What an awesome view! I see other commenters said the same thing…must be because it is true 🙂

     
  6. WildBlack

    September 4, 2009 at 4:54 am

    What a view! Awesome 😀

     
  7. polarbear169

    September 29, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Wow, that brings back a lot of childhood memories. My father was stationed at Fort Sill near Lawton in the early seventies, and Mt Scott was a favorite place to visit on weekends.
    I also went to visit Mt Scott when I was stationed at Sheppard AFB in Wichita Falls, Tx, about 45 minutes away, and I had a friend get a photo of me on top at sunset. I wrote about Fort Sill and Mount Scott a couple of times in my old journal on JournalSpace. Thanks for this picture; it brought back some fond memories.

     
  8. Shell

    February 11, 2012 at 12:37 am

    I live in Oklahoma, but I’ve never had the chance to go see Mount Scott. I’ve heard it’s such a beautiful view, and from pictures I know. My brother went there and said it was nice. This is such a great picture. it’s an awesome view!

     

Leave a Reply

 
